Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this fudge for Christmas and it got rave reviews from everybody. As I am a pumpkin farmer, I used fresh (home-frozen) pumpkin rather than canned. Canned pumpkin can vary in content and quality. It took longer to cook than regular fudge, and it looked "funny" while cooking, but that was due to the pumpkin. It set just great the first time, even though I made it while a heavy snowstorm raged outside. I found the texture to be somewhere between creamy and grainy. Call it "soft grainy." Those who had the recipe fail would do well to read "The Physical Chemistry of Making Fudge," by Sue Ann Bowling. Find it by Googling "fudge chemistry" (without the quotes) It explains the importance of many of the various inputs. Accurate measurement is essential. An accurate thermometer is also a huge help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe to a tee and it never thickened up enough or solidified. Very dissappointing, don't waste your time. Didn't even taste like pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
i followed the directions and used a candy thermometer and it did not set just a glop of goo in my pan :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Help. I didn't cook it long enough...I need to know what to do with this gooey mess now...is there another recipe i can use to make something with this mess so i don't have to throw it away..i spent $12.00 on all the stuff. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is one of the BEST fudge recipes I've ever made. It's always creamy, everytime. It has a great flavor. I up the spices a little, to give it that spiced flavor. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I thought for sure I saw thi exact same down to the word recipe from another website call ochef or something like that, when I did a search for pumpkin fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great taste, horrible method. I wish I had read the reviews... I LOVE the taste of this, and DID follow the recipe to a tee, but still ended up with a gooey mess. The good news = I took the goo, melted it back down, added another 3 c. white choc. chips, and now it's much better. Way to save a recipe - that I made 3 batches of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I finally got the recipe to set after my 3rd attempt. Instead of boiling on medium until it reached 232 degrees F, I just kept boiling until I couuld drop it in cold water and form a soft ball, it was more like a held together mass. Almost missed being able to pour it into greased pan as when the thermometer was at 110 degrees F, mixture was already very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
It seems no matter how many times I try to make pumpkin fudge it never gets hard/thick. I don't know if it's the recipe or me but it just doesn't turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I tried this recipe 3 times. Each time, it came out horrible and didn't harden. Very displeased:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States