Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I was able to make this recipe after failing at others. My co-workers and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I had a terrible time with this. I did EXACTLY like it said and it burned! It was at soft ball stage when I took it off and I added the rest of the ingredients, let it cool, changed pots before beating because of the burn. Beat it until I thought my arm would break. Put it in the pan and in frig. 8 hours later it is not set! Tastes great but won't set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made this fudge for the first time today but it did not set(and I left it overnight).....But DONT GIVE UP!!! I just put it back into the pot and brought it back up to a boil until soft balls formed when dropped into cold water(did not use thermometer second time)Also I added extra spices for personal taste...when I got to the part were you have to beat it until think I found it helpful to put bottom of pot in a cold bath in the sink while stirring and it turned out nicely...The pumkin flavor isnt overwhelming and it is quite sweet but its still a pretty good fudge recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was very disappointed with this recipe; I used a candy thermometer too and it turned out very grainy and not a good fudge... Thew it out and wasted all the ingredients. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
It was very sweet but pumpkiny. Taking other reviews in mind, when it came to a boil I let it boil a minute longer to be sure. I did not stir when adding the spices and butter until later directed. I beat the heck out of it then. It was overcast that day but not raining. It turned out good. Instead of pumpkin pie spice I used 1/8 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves & 1/2 tsp cinnamon cause I'm not a big ginger fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
The fudge itself came out prefectly, but it's sooooo sweet! You can only eat very tiny bits at a time. My husband, who is not a sweet eater, couldn't stomach it, but other people didn't seem to mind it. I ended up making truffles out of it by letting it soften and rolling it into balls and then dunking them in melted chocolate. This was a big hit. My mom even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Excellent taste, but I think it lacks detail in the instructions, which may be the cause of the mixed reviews and results. This recipe, as written, is really for those experienced with fudge making. I suggest test your candy thermometer's boiling point for water and adjust the temperature of this recipe accordingly, unless you are really familiar with soft ball testing, and be sure you use a *heavy* saucepan. As to my own first batch, I tried what another reviewer suggested, which was to add the butter, spice, and vanilla, but not mix them in until the mixture cooled to 110 degrees--well, if you plan to mix by hand, you may want to start stirring before it cools to that temperature. For me, the butter did not mix in well. For my first batch, the combination of not getting all the butter mixed in and letting the fudge get a bit too past the loss of gloss stage resulted in it being crumbly when I cut it, but to my own surprise after reading other reviews, it was creamy, not at all grainy! Yummy! I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I have never made fudge before so it took me 3 tries to get it right. But once I got the swing of it, the fudge turned out terrific and I got rave reviews from my family and friends. The only thing I did differently is to add nutmeg, ginger, cinnamon, and clove rather than pumpkin pie spice. This will definately be a holiday tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
The temperatures are right-on, but be careful during the "beating" stage after the fudge mixture cools down to 110 degrees. Be very aware of when the mixture "begins to lose its gloss" and don't beat any further! When you see the sudden loss of gloss, immediately spoon it into pan, or you will have NO time at all to get it in there...I had to spread it out with the palms of my hands because it was hardening so fast! The fudge still came out with a creamy, non-granular texture, but it is a little bit harder than I would like it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Sande Gouveia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very yummy! It didn't turn out the first time I made it because I didn't follow the advice of others to read the chemistry of fudge, but after I read it and attempted it again it turned out perfect!! I usually buy pumpkin fudge from the candy store but not anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States