Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Because several reviewers found this recipe tempermental, I watched the fudge with great care. I don't have a candy thermometer, so I tested it several times till it reached soft ball stage. It took a while! I was patient, and did not scrape the bottom as people said not to, it did scorch slightly on the bottom. I thought it was very sweet, and the pumpkin flavor was slightly more subtle than I expected. Instead of using pumpkin puree, and adding spices, I used pureed pumpkin that already had pumpkin pie spice added to it. It set up well and had a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
If you love pumpkin, don't be scared of the negative reviews. 1. Test your thermometer in boiling water and make sure it's accurate (mine was 5 degrees off, a HUGE difference in candy making). 2. When it first boils, brush sides of pan with wet pastry brush. This will dissolve sugar crystals on the side of the pan and help keep fudge from being grainy. A grainy texture is NOT due to the pumpkin, it's due to sugar crystalization. 3. Lower heat to medium and DON'T STIR! This will also kick-off sugar crystalization. It took 40 minutes for mine to get to 232-238 degrees. Immediately pour fudge onto granite/marble counter or back of a cookie sheet DO NOT SCRAPE PAN OUT. Mine was slightly brown on the bottom. Just like with caramel, this is why you don't scrape the pan out. Let sit until temp lowers to 110 (took 20 minutes on granite with house at 75 degrees) Put it all in a mixer and beat untiil it loses gloss/starts to look opaque (took 10 minutes). Put in prepared pan and let cool 1-2 hours on rack. This resulted in PERFECT consistancy. Nice and pumpkiny. You can do this! Just be super careful of temps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
You really need to use a HEAVY pan for cooking this,it will definitely burn (any candy will) if you use a flimsy pan...also you will burn if you don't stir constantly. Nice change from chocolate. (still love chocolate best, though!) :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I have made this recipe for Christmas for yearsmany years. I give it away for gifts and people look forward to recieving it each year. You need to make sure you get it to a soft ball stage or it will be runny. I love this fudge though and it is nice for people who don't like chocolate!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
The candy burned without constant stirring and the texture was not good. It's not creamy, but has a grainy feel, presumably from the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Creaminess was not lacking for me. I did get some stuck to the bottom because it took way longer than I expected to reach soft ball stage. I didn't bother to puree my cooked pumpkin and this fudge is really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I didn't get past the first of part of getting to softball stage before it burnt. I will move on to another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Disappointed! Sounded good but once boiling, the liquid didn't rise past 200 degrees...boiled for about 20 minutes till it finally burned! The recipe didn't state how long it SHOULD take to reach temperature either. Off to try another recipe : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
and i'm losing my mind. scratch my previous review. see, i really am clueless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I was able to make this recipe after failing at others. My co-workers and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States