Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I can my own pumpkin butter (which has sugar and spices cooked in) so I altered this recipe to use it. What I did was I used about 3/4 cup of the pumpkin butter, reduced the sugar to about 2 1/2 cups, and of course omitted the spices. The fudge took about 2 hours total to make - I just now poured it into the pan and it'll be set soon. I put the butter and vanilla into the pot ater taking it off of the heat and let the butter melt, then poured it all into a glass bowl for the cooling stage to avoid pieces of burnt candy winding up in the fudge - there was a burned layer on the bottom of the pot. Didn't affect anything. I stirred the melted butter and vanilla into the hot candy and stuck the candy thermometer back in. It took quite some time to cool - it stays warmer in the center than at the edge of the bowl so I made sure to wait until a point halfway from the center to the outside registered 110 degrees. It took less than 10 minutes of beating to get it to thicken and lose much of its gloss and I got it in the pan right away. The candy on the spoon as very good, not too sweet, and the real pumpkin butter I think made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
The flavor was WONDERFUL but the texture was NOT. It came out crumbly and slightly gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This came out fantastic, the only problem I had was it scorching at the bottom due to me being impatient and jacking the heat up. I salvaged it by dumping it into a bowl leaving the burnt remains behind. I only beat it for about a minute or so and it came out perfect fudge texture, creamy and rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I made this yesterday and it turned out dry. I cooked it to 235 degrees after reading some reviews and I think I overdid it. The taste however, was great! I am going to try again and reduce my cook time. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
my kids thought i was nuts now they believe me its the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Absolutely amazing flavor!!! I stirred when I shouldnt have and ended up with a pot of granules but it was soooo good! I mixed it with graham cracker crumbs and used it as the crust of a pumpkin swirl cheesecake. It was AWESOME! I will definitely keep this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I've tried this recipe a number of times and it turns out better and better the more I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I made this recipe and followed the instructions for not stirring and waiting to beat until the mixture got to 110 deg. However, the mixture was so liquidy that it didn't set at all. I did add 1 cup of powdered sugar to see if it would salvage the batch and it turned out pretty good. It is not as smooth as I would like, but it does have good flavor. I added pecans rather than walnuts and it was a really good combination as well. I will try this recipe again to see if it will turn out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is a great and easy recipe for any one to make. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This will not set at the temp given. If you get it up to 240 degrees it should set well and taste delicious. It was a hit after the first batch flopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States