Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I saw this and HAD to make it right away. What I did is threw everything in my blender, ran it through to a even consistancy and dumped it in a flat freezable container, let it firm up, then blended it again. When it firmed up the second time, it was ready to go. I used my own homemade sugar free maple syrup and one teaspoon of my homemade pumpkin pie spice. This is MONEY. My kids and I LOVED it. Thank you so much for sharing this low-calorie treat! NOTEL You can get away with using half the amount of syrup and still have it be sweet enough. If you aren't a fan of maple syrup, you could substitute honey of agave nectar and have it taste really good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe! I'm a sucker for anything that involves pumpkin (especially this time of year), and I was so excited when I came across this recipe. I actually used non-fat Greek-style yogurt; the texture is a little icier than intended, but it still tastes great and is nearly entirely guilt free! I also don't have an ice cream freezer, so I took the advice from another reviewer (who used a blender) and mixed it three times over the course of a few hours, keeping it in the freezer in between. It worked beautifully! I can't wait to make it again and experiment with the spice/sweetness ratio. I'll be bringing this to holiday celebrations in the very near future for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
As this is written, it is only okay. I think a lot hinges on the brand of Greek yogurt and the kind of maple syrup (real or Aunt Jemima) you use in this. I'm not sure what the submitter used but on hand I had Fage and Spring Tree maple syrup. I ended up having to smooth out the Fage taste with half and half (to taste) and extra maple syrup. I love my Fage and I eat it for breakfast with strawberries and hardly any added sugar; for some reason, the combination of packed pumpkin, spices and Fage just left a strange aftertaste. I blended everything to the same consistency in my blender before pouring it into my ice cream maker. It only took 10-15 minutes to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I love most things pumpkin and had high hopes for this. I was quite dissapointed. I started out as directed. But the taste was next to aweful. The yogurt tasted like sour cream, and even mixed in with everything, still had that overbowering sour/bitter flavor. This may be in part that I have tried 4 or 5 different greek yogurts (just to eat) and I didnt like any of them at all. I added a little cream cheese and brown sugar. This helped a little bit with the flavor. I dont have a ice cream maker, but just froze the mixture. When ready to eat, i stuck it in the microwave to soften. The flavor was still odd and the texture a lil off. If I made it again, I would NOT use plain greek yogurt. I would use either regular vanilla yogurt or that and cream cheese. I also didnt like the syrup flavor with it. I think maybe more brown sugar instad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanicole82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Waaaayyy too bitter - even added 1/4 c sugar and it was bitter. My wife eats Fage Greek Yogurt often and loves it, so it wasn't the yogurt, but this combo was just very tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was pretty good! I love the combination of the pumpkin and syrup and the tangy yogurt. I don't have an ice cream maker so I used the blender/freezer method recommended by another user, but I wasn't completely satisfied with the texture. I might get an ice cream maker just for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We love pumpkin in various forms and this is not one of them. First made it per recipe. Tried again adding more syrup, then half & Half, still not good. The Greek-style yogurt was the culprit. Just too tart and "yogurt-y". Might be better with regular yogurt. Sorry, we didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Bitter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
this would be a 5 star recipe for me if a vanilla yogurt was used. Greek-style yogurt is not Greek yogurt (FAGE). you can't have 2 strong different flavors in the same recipe--hence the mixed reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We all loved this. The kids were dying over the fact that it tasted like frozen pumpkin pie! I used one and a half teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinn, nutmeg and cloves. Ours was not bitter, but did taste a bit yogurty (but, I like that flavor). Used genuine maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States