Pumpkin Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
A bit doughy and soggy! I cooked way more then the 2 minutes it calls for on each side and still on the raw side. I added cinnamon but no curry- not a fan. missing something and im not sure what. any one else have doughy fritters??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very tasty! I agree that you need to halve the size of the fritters or they can stay doughy in the middles, but some people like them that way. I tried the recipe as is first (yum!) just adjusting the size the first time around. Next time I left out the curry and did 2 tbsp sugar and about 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and then dusted them with powdered sugar and a hint of pie spice...it was like little bite sized gourmet funnel cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I just made these and, while they weren't to my tastes, my 3 yr. old daughter liked them sprinkled with a little powdered sugar. I think if I were to attempt this again I would alter a funnel cake recipe with pumpkin puree as these were a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Make a double batch because you are going to love these. I don't go for really spicy so I didn't put in all the curry, but I think I will next time because they were quite mild. I also added a little garlic. THey were delicious and even my finicky kids liked them. I also made a sweet batch by adding sugar, cinnamon, and cloves, instead of the curry. I think the sugar made them soak up more oil so maybe a little extra flour. Not sure on the proportions but they were pretty good too, just not quite as good as the original savory version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Did not like these at all. Too much flour, not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Mixed reviews. Daughter and I loved these, though I'd like to use less flour next time..., just a tad - as these were more cake-like than I had hoped. One son enjoyed these fritters after he asked me to add ham to some of them (daughter and I liked these that way too, but I'd recommend cutting the salt if you are going to add ham). My dh said he could put up with these fritters if he had something to dip them in (we had soup, and that was good enough). In the past, he really despised pumpkin, but we've found some common ground on pumpkin (I think he's putting up with me..... he's kinda cute, ya know?). Well, there are some pumpkin things he simply will not eat, so it is saying *something* that he'll eat these. I'm just glad that he will, 'cuz i really do like these - but I shouldn't eat them all....., or even half of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I seasoned to taste with the curry powder and salt, and started with 1/2 cup flour. It was still a little too thin, so I added another 1/4 cup flour to end at about 3/4 cup. I also did not submerge them. I put just a little oil at the bottom of the pan and flattened them like little pancakes. They do soak up a lot of oil, and using this method prevents so much oil from being used. I made a simple dip of sour cream, dill weed, and garlic salt. I thought they were amazing, but if you don't like curry you will not like these. I took it to work and it was hit or miss. It could easily be altered to be a sweeter/dessert dish using the same cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Myself and my 4 kids thought these were to die for!! We dipped them in Maple Syrup and they were heaven. I made them exactly as written and they turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
it was ok, an interesting spin on traditional Jamaican fritters :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this is an excellent appetizer recipe I did change it a bit: I added 2 t curry, cut the flour to 1/2 cup, added garlic salt, nutmeg and cinnamon. I tried them fried, but found the oil overwhelming the pumpkin. I fried them in a bit of butter and oil in a fry pan, like a blini (little pancake). I topped them with a dot of sour cream mixed with Major Grey chutney...awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Needham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States