Pumpkin French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This does not have a strong pumpkin flavor. In fact you can hardly taste the pumpkin. A good way to sneak in a health dose if Vitamin A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazyforkookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was really good, but as other reviewer stated, not very pumpkin-y. I guess that's good if you are hiding the pumpkin in there for extra vitamins, but not so good if you LOVE pumpkin like we do :) Next time I will try more pumpkin and less egg to see what happens. I used some pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg, and I added a little sugar to the batter to sweeten it up some as grandson does not use syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Delicious! We doubled the pumpkin puree and still found the pumpkin taste to be pretty subtle. I would not increase the pumpkin past 1/2 cup or the egg mixture may lose its consistency. I added a splash of vanilla extract (personal taste). Using Texas Toast, this recipe made 6 slices = 3 servings. Either add 2 t. sugar or serve with powdered sugar or syrup. This was fantastic, we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Yummy! I also added some flaxseed meal to make it even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Great jumping off point. After reading some of the reviews, I thought I could make this a little more "pumpkin-y". I took 1/2 c. pumpkin and whipped it with 1/4 c. powdered sugar and 1/2 c. cream cheese. I added 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice when it was near the end of whipping. I also added pumpkin pie spice to the egg mixture instead of the spices alone. I spread the pumpkin-cream cheese mixture inside of two slices whole wheat bread and made stuffed french toast. I served it with hot maple syrup and bacon. This made for a nice lazy Sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These are so good they taste like they should be bad for you.. I used oat bread instead of whole wheat and could taste the pumpkin fine. Only used the oat bread because that is what I had. This bread was light however and could not stay in the mixture long. Really nice change if you already like french toast. It's like the easy or instant version of pumpkin pie and it's good for you. Although the pumpkin may not be overly strong. I found the ingredients/spices completely mask the eggs. This turns them into a sweet and spicy dessert like breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I make french toast every week and love pumpkin so this was a must try for me. I doubled the pumpkin and added splenda to the batter. It turned out light and fluffy and was great with powdered sugar on top. Would recommend for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was good, although as others have said, we could not really taste the pumpkin even though I increased it to 1/2 cup. I used 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice in place of the cinnamon/nutmeg combo and added 1 tsp of vanilla. The batter was really thick, so you want to use a hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I liked the idea of the stuffed French toast and, since I had more pumpkin, decided to try that version. My husband is a diabetic, so the once change I made was to substite 4 tsp of splenda brown sugar in place of the powdered sugar in the filling. I thought it turned out well. Thanks for a great recipe and reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Guess what I made this into a french toast bake and it was delicious. I first greased a 9x13 pan and loaded it up with bread cubes. Next I took the recipe's liquid ingredients along with the pumpkin and pureed it all in the blender. Next, poured it over the bread cubes and baked it for 35-40 minutes at 350F. When it was done I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over top and drizzled with powder sugar and milk glaze. Yummy from all my coworkers. and what raves! Just remember to heavily grease the pan and easy clean up. Another Bake and Take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States