Pumpkin French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I appreciate this idea very much. I made it for myself and my 1 year old this weekend, and we both loved it! I doctored the recipe quite a bit, which is why I gave it only four stars...but the idea alone is worth four stars, so there ya go. I used only 1 egg with 1/4 cup pumpkin and added a touch of honey and a bit of milk to thin it up a bit. I kept the spices the same. My son gobbled his slice up and asked for "mo", which is a rare thing these days. I added the honey so no syrup would be necessary, and I didn't even want any. I bet maple syrup could be used for the same effect. Overall great flavor, and a good way to get some veggies in without complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Super easy, just add canned pumpkin, ginger and clove to my normal french toast batter routine. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Thank you! Great way to use leftover pumpkin and evap milk. I added more seasonings and pumpkin (happened to have more leftover), evap milk to thin (& to use it up), and sprinkled cinn sugar on each side as it cooked. Even my "thin" lower cal bread tasted great. Also used light syrup. Will try it as a bake next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveMyMastiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
AHMAZING! Just personalized it a bit based upon our own pumpkin pie recipes. I added 1/8 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, increased the amount of pumpkin to 1 cup. My husband and son went crzy for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLOBLONDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
very tasty, but the pumpkin is much more subtle than I would have anticipated.. but the mixture came out very well. I added whipped cream and cinnamon to the top. Excellent fall breakfast to keep things interesting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very delicious! I mixed a little vanilla and powdered sugar into whipped cream cheese and made sandwiches with the french toast. Sooooo good and super easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Pretty tasty! I scaled it down to one serving and made it with a bagel and it turned out quite good. Definitely had a nice pumpkin taste to it. Also, the egg mixture was quite generous so you could really let the bread soak it up. Could use a bit of sweetness, but still delicious, I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Great idea - pumpkin French Toast! I'll have to try the traditional recipe next time. I followed the baked french toast recipe in a 13x9 inch pan using Oatnut Bread (perfect for this) but I addedd 2 T. of brown sugar and 2 T. of heavy cream along with 1/2 C. of pumpkin - it was SO good! I baked it for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven and drizzled it with a milk/powdered sugar/maple syrup glaze - YUM! I also want to turn it into more of a pumpkin bread pudding with 2 more eggs and, probably, a cup of pumpkin, more cream and brown sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Really good idea. Decent recipe. A little to mild for my taste. It needed more flavor. So I added a couple TB brown sugar, pumpkin spice, and vanilla. Much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States