Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is fabulous! The flavor is very good, and it is not overly sweet. And it isn't mushy. This reminds me more of bread pudding which I love. The only substitution I made was the bread, as I did not have Texas toast. Instead I used cinnamon raisin bagel thins, which seems like an odd substitution, but it tastes great!! Defintitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was a really great addition to a brunch menu. It was perfectly spiced and not too sweet, but just sweet enough to not need syrup. The crumb topping is an extra special touch. I found I liked it best with just a dollop of fresh whipped cream to complement the spicy pumpkin flavor. I didn't have Texas toast and substituted a loaf of regular sandwich bread, which when cubed equaled about 8 cups. I also took the crusts off first. The only minor issue was with mixing everything in the baking dish - that caused it to stick to the dish. I would recommend stirring the pumpkin mixture in a large bowl and adding the bread cubes to the bowl to mix, then pouring it all in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Good Pumpkin Bread Pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed the Frech toast bake, however, an entire loaf of Texas thick-sliced bread is not needed! In step 3 of the directions it states, " Arrange the bread cubes in a single layer", so only a few slices of bread needed to be cubed. I had cubed up the entire loaf since that is what is listed in the ingredient listing. Also, I would suggest lining the cake pan with foil and geasing the foil, so clean-up of the pan is easier. As another review suggested, mix the ingredients in a bowl and then pour the mixture over the bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't make any chages to the recipe except adding an extra teaspon of sugar. For the topping, I used 3 tablespoons of butter and added approximately 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It is delish served alone or amazing with a smidgen of maple syrup and a dollop of Extra Creamy Cool Whip. I placed the cubed bread into a 13x9 Pyrex dish and poured the puree on top and gently tossed with my hands; then sprinkled with the topping. My family is very picky and they loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is the bomb diggity!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Loved it! Next time I think I will use half flour and half quaker oats for the topping and some walnuts...this recipe is great as is or easily adaptable to changes you may like...thanks for a great recipe p.s. I used my cooked fresh pumpkin from my garden...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe. I made a couple of changes to try lightening it up and reducing the number of ingredients used: egg beaters instead of eggs, lower calorie/high-fiber white bread instead of the Texas toast, 2 heaping tsp of pumpkin spice instead of the cinnamon/cloves/nutmeg combo, and reduced the amount of brown sugar in the topping to 1/4 cup. I also added a little 2% milk to the pumpkin mixture so there was enough liquid to fully soak the bread. Ended up with 12 generously-sized squares of french toast, at about 160 calories (and 10 grams of protein and 8 grams of fiber!) a piece! Turned out great, although I don't doubt the original recipe is even better and richer tasting - will save that for a special occasion :) The best part -- I wrapped the leftover squares individually in plastic wrap and froze them, and am looking forward to reheating them in the toaster oven for an easy/healthy breakfast later this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Loved it! My husband liked it and my co-workers gobbled it up! Added 1 tbs nat. (non-alcoholic) vanilla extract, added a dash of more of each spice, used sugar in the raw instead of white sugar, used old french bread (we always have crusty left-overs), used rolled oats instead of flour, and sunflower oil instead of butter. Also added a dash of skim milk just to moisten things up and glazed the baking dish with oil and maple syrup. Just because I wanted this a little more like bread pudding, I added 1/8cup of raisins and a handful of pecans for more texture and flavors. Ih and definitely mixed everything in the bowel before adding to the baking dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was really great. I did not find it too sweet and actually thought that it could have been slightly sweeter, maybe a bit more topping. I used a sparing amount of maple syrup and thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States