Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was a really great addition to a brunch menu. It was perfectly spiced and not too sweet, but just sweet enough to not need syrup. The crumb topping is an extra special touch. I found I liked it best with just a dollop of fresh whipped cream to complement the spicy pumpkin flavor. I didn't have Texas toast and substituted a loaf of regular sandwich bread, which when cubed equaled about 8 cups. I also took the crusts off first. The only minor issue was with mixing everything in the baking dish - that caused it to stick to the dish. I would recommend stirring the pumpkin mixture in a large bowl and adding the bread cubes to the bowl to mix, then pouring it all in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe. I made a couple of changes to try lightening it up and reducing the number of ingredients used: egg beaters instead of eggs, lower calorie/high-fiber white bread instead of the Texas toast, 2 heaping tsp of pumpkin spice instead of the cinnamon/cloves/nutmeg combo, and reduced the amount of brown sugar in the topping to 1/4 cup. I also added a little 2% milk to the pumpkin mixture so there was enough liquid to fully soak the bread. Ended up with 12 generously-sized squares of french toast, at about 160 calories (and 10 grams of protein and 8 grams of fiber!) a piece! Turned out great, although I don't doubt the original recipe is even better and richer tasting - will save that for a special occasion :) The best part -- I wrapped the leftover squares individually in plastic wrap and froze them, and am looking forward to reheating them in the toaster oven for an easy/healthy breakfast later this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was amazing! I didn't make any chages to the recipe except adding an extra teaspon of sugar. For the topping, I used 3 tablespoons of butter and added approximately 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It is delish served alone or amazing with a smidgen of maple syrup and a dollop of Extra Creamy Cool Whip. I placed the cubed bread into a 13x9 Pyrex dish and poured the puree on top and gently tossed with my hands; then sprinkled with the topping. My family is very picky and they loved, loved, loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed the Frech toast bake, however, an entire loaf of Texas thick-sliced bread is not needed! In step 3 of the directions it states, " Arrange the bread cubes in a single layer", so only a few slices of bread needed to be cubed. I had cubed up the entire loaf since that is what is listed in the ingredient listing. Also, I would suggest lining the cake pan with foil and geasing the foil, so clean-up of the pan is easier. As another review suggested, mix the ingredients in a bowl and then pour the mixture over the bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This made a good and filling breakfast this morning. I am one of those people that thinks everything tastes too sweet. I liked that this did not. I didn't have Texas toast bread. I made a loaf of homemade bread, the other day, and used that. I only wanted about 4 servings, or just enough for breakfast, and used about 7 slices of the cubed bread for 1/2 the recipe. The only other change I made was subbing an equal amount of "pumpkin pie spice" for the cloves and nutmeg. I would spray the baking pan well or line with parchment as it does stick a bit like most baked french toast recipes. When done I ate it with a very tiny drizzle of maple syrup. The crumb topping already gave it a unique light sweetness. It looks like bread pudding kind of, with the cubed bread, but tastes like french toast. It did smell good to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
great holiday breakfast. changes i made was using pumpkin pie spice instead of seperate spices, and using fresh pumpkin puree instead of cannned (also need about 1/2 cup to a cup more pumpkin) also dont put the bread in nthe pan till after you toss it with the mixture. I mixed everything in a big bowl, added the bread tossed to coat then piled it in the pan. Somebody else mentioned that to do a single layer doesnt need a whole loaf, but you donty want just a single layer. just cut the whole loaf, coat then pile it all in, it will turn out perfect. Also no reason to add milk, the bread will soak up the mixture (per another reviewers comments, if you add milk or crean it will turn out like bread pudding and not a french toast bake, which is what it is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Loved it! My husband liked it and my co-workers gobbled it up! Added 1 tbs nat. (non-alcoholic) vanilla extract, added a dash of more of each spice, used sugar in the raw instead of white sugar, used old french bread (we always have crusty left-overs), used rolled oats instead of flour, and sunflower oil instead of butter. Also added a dash of skim milk just to moisten things up and glazed the baking dish with oil and maple syrup. Just because I wanted this a little more like bread pudding, I added 1/8cup of raisins and a handful of pecans for more texture and flavors. Ih and definitely mixed everything in the bowel before adding to the baking dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is fabulous! The flavor is very good, and it is not overly sweet. And it isn't mushy. This reminds me more of bread pudding which I love. The only substitution I made was the bread, as I did not have Texas toast. Instead I used cinnamon raisin bagel thins, which seems like an odd substitution, but it tastes great!! Defintitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Awesome dish! I followed recipe ingredients exactly as listed. I only changed one direction...instead of pouring the mixture on the bread, I dipped the bread slices and placed them in the baking pan. Will totally make again! Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Loved it! Next time I think I will use half flour and half quaker oats for the topping and some walnuts...this recipe is great as is or easily adaptable to changes you may like...thanks for a great recipe p.s. I used my cooked fresh pumpkin from my garden...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States