Pumpkin French Toast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a delicious and easy Thanksgiving day brunch. I couldn't find any Texas Toast and used a loaf of Challah bread instead. It worked perfectly. I also read the other reviews and tossed the bread in the egg mix before putting in the baking dish. This worked very well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz680

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving morning.. Awesome! Will definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I cut this recipe in half to serve 4. There was entirely too much bread for one layer! Didn't turn out good at all. At least half of the bread had no pumpkin mixture on it and came out dry. We could only eat the top. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodwell, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great flavor and topped with maple syrup makes it taste even better. The only problem I had was not all the bread soaked up the batter. So the middle of the bread was dry. Maybe using regular bread or letting it sit over night? Still yummy though and we ate seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
There was way too much bread to make a single layer and not enough mixture to coat all the bread in the recipe. Several prior reviewers reduced the amount of bread or added other ingredients which I should have done. Coating the bread is a critical step. The bottom half of my dish tasted like plain bread. The top half was delicious. Either double the recipe so there is sufficient pumpkin mix to coat all the bread or reduce the amount of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made exactly as written. I thought it was a bit bland. I would have liked more pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Made this today and enjoyed it! Like other reviewers noted, this dish offered just enough sweetness. Other french toast bakes I've ever made or eaten were super sweet. I used only 3/4 of the loaf of Texas toast. Also, I sprayed my glass baking dish (13x9) generously with cooking spray before placing the bread cubes inside; mixing the cubes with the batter while in the baking dish didn't cause my finished product to stick. Finally, I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top before serving each slice, which gave it just the right amount of extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
my family loved this! i took the suggestion of others & mixed this together before pouring into a parchment paper-lined pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiMi's Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The only changes I made to this recipe was that I used a big can of pumpkin minus l/2 cup (that I used for a pumpkin cheesecake), also had about 5 slices of Texas Toast left as some others did and I soaked each slice in the mixture and put in the pan. This was absolutely delicious and we put some maple syrup on the top. We had it for dinner a couple of days after Thanksgiving. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was a delicious Thanksgiving breakfast. I was hoping for a new tradition for breakfast. Sadly, I was the only one who liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States