Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ASTROPHE
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
It's been a long time since I posted this recipe. I'm glad others are enjoying it! These days I make it without any applesauce and just use the whole 15 oz can of pumpkin. Add a few spoons of water if it needed but keep in mind this batter is thick. I also add 1/3 cup chopped walnuts and 1/3 cup dried cranberries (Craisins). I cut the sugar back to 1 cup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Both my husband and I love this bread! We made a few changes, but it's fantastic as it is. We substituted 1 cup of splenda for a cup of the sugar and used a total of one cup of whole wheat flour (non-pastry) and 2/3 cup all purpose flour. We also added half of a cup of raisins and extra spices since we love cinnamon and nutmeg. Super fast and easy to make - perfect for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Another great recipe using flax. I am always looking for good recipies that incorporate this fine source EFA's. Flax adds a unique texture to this recipie that holds moistness and combines with the pumpkin for a great taste. I added whole flax seed to the mixture for a more crunchy nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I was a little worried about this recipe when I poured the batter/dough into the bread pan. First, I must say that I had to substitute for the applesauce - I didn't have any. I didn't want to use oil, so I used plain yogurt (I know, not cool for vegans, but?). And, I used a whole can of pumpkin (15 oz.) instead of the 1 c. called for in the recipe. Since these two substitutions seemed to make the wet ingredients even wetter, I used a little more flour - a little over 3/4 c. regular wheat flour (I didn't have pastry flour) and about 1 1/4 c. bread flour. Because of these alterations, I also modified the spices and baking powder ever-so-slightly. So, why did I worry? There was a ton of batter! I probably could have put this into 2 pans. I didn't, though. What worried me even more is, when I dipped my finger in one of the spatula trails left in my mixing bowl and took a lick, it was pretty bland. I wondered if it was because this recipe uses a fraction of the sugar called for in other recipes or if I didn't add enough spices or what?! Well, I stuck some pecans in the top of my loaf and stuck it in the oven and hoped for the best. What came out was one of the BEST loaves of pumpkin bread ever! It was plenty sweet and otherwise flavorful and moist. It was beautiful! I can't wait to try it with applesauce and the pecans mixed right in (instead of just on top). Thanks so much for this wonderfully nutritious, low-fat, creature-friendly treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
AMAZING! My son is allergic to milk and eggs which makes baking a challenge. He LOVES these muffins so I make them frequently. They are plenty sweet with only a 1/2 cup sugar and not too dense if you use all whole wheat pastry flour. We make 12 muffins instead of bread...baking for 18-20 minutes. Raisins are a nice touch too! THANK YOU, THANK YOU for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was fantastic! My boyfriend has high cholesterol, so I have been looking for healthy recipes and this certainly is. I used all whole wheat flour and only 1/2 cup of sugar as some of the reviews suggested. I also made muffins. All in all, they came out delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is very good for how healthy it is! It is somewhat chewy in texture. I used mashed bananas instead of pumpkin, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent base and wonderfully moist, but had to make a LOT of changes before I got a "Wow!" response. I upped the water to 8 tablespoons, added 2 tablespoons of molasses, used an entire 15-oz can of pumpkin and left out the applesauce altogether, reduced the sugar to 3/4 a cup of brown sugar, changed the flour to two cups of white spelt flour (can't eat wheat), upped the baking powder to a full teaspoon, and changed the spices and amounts--2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon, 1 teaspoon cloves, and 1/2 teaspoon ginger. I kept the nutmeg the same, but changed the salt to a scant teaspoon, and I sprinkled the dough with brown sugar before baking. I also divide the recipe between two 7x5 bread tins and bake them together for 47 minutes. In the space of a week, I've made at least ten loaves, and my husband and friends have gobbled up every crumb! The bread comes out very dense, very moist and plenty sweet, but when divided into 8 thick pieces per loaf, each piece only has 108 calories, almost no fat, and only 30 carbs--less than a small box of raisins. Makes a delicious, filling afternoon snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is great pumpkin bread! I was looking for recipes that had no dairy or egg in it and this one came up...I too have done what the previous reviewer mentioned and tried this with the Splenda/sugar baking mix and it was excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Love this bread. Thanks so much for the recipe. I live at high altitude and it turns out wonderful. Everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States