Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I tried to make this in the breadmaker on the quickbread setting...and it was a mistake! It was undercooked and rubbery, so I wouldn't recommend trying that. The flavor was good, but the texture was not. I will have to try it again in the oven sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Really Yummy. I replace 1 cup of sugar with granulated splenda. Sliced the loaf into 12 slices and individually wrapped each slice and froze for quick breakfast. Was worried that the bread would be rubbery because of the lack of fat in the recipe, but its very moist and flavorful. I baked for only 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
These were awesome!!! I've been trying to eat healthier so these are perfect. I did make a few changes. I added about a tsp of wheat germ.. however next time I will prolly add more. I used 1 cup all-purpose and 2/3 cups whole wheat flour (trying to make it a little healthier, will try working my way up to whole wheat since I just started eating like this). I made these into muffins so I can wrap individually and put in the freezer to put my lunches later. I added a little brown sugar on top to some of them which makes them just a little better but still great without it. I also tried added raisens. The muffins are very moist and delicious and easy to make ahead and freeze. Good grab and go snacks! Permenatly on my list of foods to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Wow - delicious. I used 1 1/3 whole wheat flour and 1/3 white flour, and I did not have any flax seed meal, so I used wheat germ. Also, I left out 1/2 cup of sugar, and it was still plenty sweet. Thank you! I was so happy to find a vegan pumpkin bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I thought this bread was delicious and really easy to make! I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1 C whole wheat flour, and 2/3 C all purpose. I also cut back the sugar to 1/2 C, added a little extra pumpkin, and threw in a handful of chopped walnuts. Both my fiance` and I agreed - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I TRIPLED THE RECIPE since I only had a big can of pumpkin puree (and no other pumpkin recipes I felt like making at the time) and made medium loaves as my reg. large loaf pan is MIA. 1 can of pumpkin puree makes a triple batch and when I did that I lowered the sugar only by 1/2 a cup total and only used 12 TBSP of water instead of 18 (since a can of puree is technically 3 1/2 cups I felt that was enough moisture in the batter). It was excellent, not too sweet-just right! I also used brown and white sugar in the recipe instead of only white sugar. Also added dried cranberries to the batter. Gave one of the 4 medium loaves to my neighbor and they too LOVED IT! I love when I find dairy/egg/soy free recipes because I can make them for my kids who can not have dairy and share the recipe with family members who have dairy/egg/soy allergies. Yes, I changed it quite a bit, but I don't usually follow recipes to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McGroarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
So moist with no fat! I did make a few changes to make it even healthier (and reduced by 40 cal/serv). Reduced sugar to 1/2c sugar, 1/4c molasses, 1/4c Splenda. Added whole can of pumpkin and disregarded applesauce. Reduced white flour to 1c and added 1/3c wheat germ. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
If you're looking for a super moist, spicy, and healthful pumpkin bread, look no further! This is a dream come true! I "healthified" it (as I do with most recipes) by using 1c whole wheat flour, 1/3c all-purp flour, and 1/3c whole wheat pastry flour. I also used only 1/2c (heaping) white sugar and 1/2c brown sugar, and it was plenty sweet! I did not level the spoons of spices, since I wanted a bit more 'zing.' I also added a dash of allspice and ginger... All in all, this will be served for breakfast all year long in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Yum, yum, yum. I got applause for this recipe. I added raisins and walnuts (1/3-ish cup each). Whether you like her or not, I was shocked to hear one skeptical family member tell me it looked like something from Martha Stewart! Definitely didn't tell the family it was so healthy before they tasted it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Pretty good flavor, but strange chewy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raegan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States