Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My family really likes this Pumpkin Bread. It has no eggs or shortening yet comes out moist and delicious and rises well. A great recipe for someone who has an allergy to eggs or is looking for a heart-healthy recipe. I added one-third cup of raisins and one-third cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Pretty good. I have been having a cravaing for pumpking bread for a while. I added raisins and this is really good and simple - great with a little natural peanut butter on top. The flax seed meal is a great egg replacement (my son is highly allergic to egg, so i wanted a recipe that i could make in our egg-free house) and i really liked it. I did drop the sugar to about 2/3 of a cup as suggested by some others - it was just right. Just a side note - i tried the version of this bread offered by KychynWych and it isnt a pumpkin bread at all - it is essentially a gingerbread - i ended up throwing the loaves out :( If you want a typical pumpkin bread, dont try that version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nittanyjones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great healthy recipe. I used all whole wheat flour (I am sure it would be even better with some all purpose). I replaced 1/2 cup sugar with maple syrup and added 1 cup of raisins. I also used 1 and bit tsp pumpkin pie spice in place of other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This bread is outstanding! Ever since I made it for the first time I have made it over and over. I have significantly cut the sugar (down to about 2/3 of a cup) and I think it tastes delicious that way. I have also added cranberries and chopped walnuts (sometimes together, sometimes just one or the other) and it has tasted delicious. Definitely recommend this recipe to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Oh my goodness was this delicious! I just used the whole can of pumpkin b/c I didn't want to waste it and used only 1/4 C applesauce instead of the 1/2 C so that it wouldn't get to watery. It turned out so moist, spicy, low fat and good for you. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I halved the sugar to make this recipe more of a bread than a dessert, and it was delicious! My only problem was that the consistency-- the bottom half rose and the top half became condensed. This is heavenly warmed in the oven a topped with some almond butter. A definite repeat recipe, though I will have to work on how to achieve a better consistency. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Excellent! I used a tart applesauce, and it added so much flavor- try it with the applesauce before you sub. in pumpkin. The loaf is moist, fragrant, and you can taste each spice. My kids ate half of it before it was even cooled off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Mmmm this was so good! I made the changes that ASTROPHE posted (no applesauce, whole can of pumpkin, 1 cup sugar). I also added 1/2 cup walnuts. I was SO surprised by how moist this bread turned out with no oil!!! Will definitely make again- next time I'll try using all whole wheat flour. I baked mine for 65 minutes and the toothpick came out clean, but was a tad gooey in the middle when I cut into it an hour later. Maybe it's just my oven, but I'd let it bake 5 minutes longer next time. I'm skeptic of vegan baked goods normally, but was so pleasantly surprised by this recipe... try it- you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I had to cook it longer than stated, but I followed the recipe exact, made two loaves (a whole can of pumpkin, 15 oz.) and my house smells devine. I only tasted a small piece (realized I wanted to put it back in the oven as it felt too moist) and it tastes good. It is a very dense loaf. Shocked at no eggs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was a hit in our house. I made it into muffins. They freeze well, and although they do not have a typical quickbread texture, they are a health variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States