Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly. Except for adding 1/4 cup of pecans. Next time I think I will leave out the applesauce though...it seemed to give it a little bit of a chewy texture and doesn't really add to the flavor. Will definitely be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
My husband and I were surprised at the nutritional content of this recipe. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
WOWWWW!!! This bread is simply amazing. I have another recipe I've been using for years with lots of sugar, oil, and eggs. So when I found this one and saw all the rave reviews, I had to try it for myself. Mixing flax meal with water is a perfect egg substitute. I also added 1/3 cup chopped walnuts and 1/3 cup craisins. I subbed 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for nutmeg and cloves. Most healthy breads are not moist, and very unflavorful. This one will fool everyone! I can't wait to share it with family this Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I thought this was excellent because it was very moist and pumpkin pie-ish. I added extra spices because I always do, along with walnuts, craisins, coconut, and chocolate chips and the result was delicious. Next time, I would omit the chips because it was so delicious on its own and the chocolate almost detracts from the wonderful pumpkin flavor. The coconut was a very nice tough though. Great recipe; thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
this was an easy recipe to put together. I didn't add all the sugar, 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2. I added craisins on the top & a sprinkle of sugar before cooking. I was eager to try this right out of the oven. It looked done on the outside but was mushy inside. After it sat in the fridge it had the consistency of zucchini bread. VERY good! We argued over who got the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
WOW! I love this bread. As with other reviewers, I cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 1/2 cup oats, cutting back the white flour to one cup. I also cut the salt to 1/2 tsp. and replaced cloves with 1/4 tsp. allspice and threw in a few chopped walnuts. I plan on making this bread frequently and can't wait to send some in my daughter's next college care package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I love this bread. I made a few changes to the recipe and it came out well. I used 1/4 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet for me. Also, I used just more pumpkin instead of apple sauce, and another time tried some left over prune puree instead of the apple sauce. Both times worked out well. I am thinking of trying it out as a cake for a vegan birthday party - just have to figure out the icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Oh my...wonderful! I did make some slight changes, though -- added raisins (75g), and used orange juice for my liquid, and used all wheat flour. I also subbed in fruit sugar (fructose) and only used 150g, and it was plenty sweet. It tastes wonderful. Thanks for the recipe! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This came out really tasty. I don't usually make vegan baked goods - the texture is really dense and drier/less oily than most similar breads, but I sort of liked that. And I love how healthy it is! I made it with a butternut squash that was given to me. I couldn't find sugar-free applesauce (living in Australia) so I just tried to add more squash as people have suggested. Looking at the recipe author's own tweaks, I cut back the sugar to 1 cup, and half of that was brown sugar. I would love to try it again with the applesauce this time, if I can find it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is my favorite recipe, I have made it several times this time with banana instead of pumpkin, 1 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup wheat germ instead of wheat flour since I was out, and added 1/3 cup all purpose flour because I think I added too much bananas and it wasn't a very thick batter. Hope this helps someone out!! Enjoy the yumminess! Smile Always
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States