Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly (except substituted 1/2 c of the sugar with the equivalent of Stevia and used 1 c AP flour and 2/3 c ww flour) and the bread was so moist! I made mine into muffins, as I find it easier to get the 12 servings that way. Otherwise I don't quite get 12 slices out of the loaf! I baked them at 350 for 23 minutes. They came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I used a 12 cup muffin pan and the muffins were tasty. The texture is a little gummy, but the outsides were crispy and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Thought it was very good, moist and dense. I added a banana and removed some sugar. Also added chocolate chips and raising. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blover4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orono, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made these into muffins and they did come out very dense. Next time I will also add more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves) the listed amount just isn't enough for me. A very good, healthy alternative though! I didn't use any applesauce and used wheat flour (nonpastry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I took the advice of a previous poster and used AP, WW and wheat germ. I also subbed apple pie spice and used Turbinado sugar (white sugar is NOT vegetarian). The texture was a little too chewy, so I might try to decrease the applesauce. I'll be making again soon...this time adding chopped pears or apples and nuts. Thanks for a quick vegan sweet bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I will have to eat it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very good, definetly need's more spices though. I almost doubled the cinnamon and I may add more next time I make this. I used one cup ww flour, 1/2 bleached flour and 1/4 cup wheat germ, also added the whole can of pumpkin. I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and added 1/3 cup honey. I sprikled saltless sunflower seeds on top before baking. Great (and tasty) way to add some flax seed into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This bread was amazing! I used a whole can of pumpkin, and 1/3 cup of applesauce. Only2/3 cup sugar. It tastes even better the next day :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracieloo21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious, made the changes the author suggested, reduced sugar to 1 cup, used 15 oz. can pumpkin & dropped the applesauce, added walnuts, dried cranberries & added raisins YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My whole family loved this! I did make a slightly healthier version. I used 4T flax, only 1 C. sugar, the whole can of pumpkin, 3/4 C. applesauce, 1C. whole wheat flour and 2/3 C white flour. Turned out very moist and just the right amount of sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States