Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly (except substituted 1/2 c of the sugar with the equivalent of Stevia and used 1 c AP flour and 2/3 c ww flour) and the bread was so moist! I made mine into muffins, as I find it easier to get the 12 servings that way. Otherwise I don't quite get 12 slices out of the loaf! I baked them at 350 for 23 minutes. They came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I used a 12 cup muffin pan and the muffins were tasty. The texture is a little gummy, but the outsides were crispy and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Thought it was very good, moist and dense. I added a banana and removed some sugar. Also added chocolate chips and raising. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blover4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orono, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made these into muffins and they did come out very dense. Next time I will also add more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves) the listed amount just isn't enough for me. A very good, healthy alternative though! I didn't use any applesauce and used wheat flour (nonpastry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I took the advice of a previous poster and used AP, WW and wheat germ. I also subbed apple pie spice and used Turbinado sugar (white sugar is NOT vegetarian). The texture was a little too chewy, so I might try to decrease the applesauce. I'll be making again soon...this time adding chopped pears or apples and nuts. Thanks for a quick vegan sweet bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I will have to eat it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very good, definetly need's more spices though. I almost doubled the cinnamon and I may add more next time I make this. I used one cup ww flour, 1/2 bleached flour and 1/4 cup wheat germ, also added the whole can of pumpkin. I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and added 1/3 cup honey. I sprikled saltless sunflower seeds on top before baking. Great (and tasty) way to add some flax seed into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This bread was amazing! I used a whole can of pumpkin, and 1/3 cup of applesauce. Only2/3 cup sugar. It tastes even better the next day :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracieloo21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious, made the changes the author suggested, reduced sugar to 1 cup, used 15 oz. can pumpkin & dropped the applesauce, added walnuts, dried cranberries & added raisins YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My whole family loved this! I did make a slightly healthier version. I used 4T flax, only 1 C. sugar, the whole can of pumpkin, 3/4 C. applesauce, 1C. whole wheat flour and 2/3 C white flour. Turned out very moist and just the right amount of sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States