Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Wasn't that impressed with this bread. It wasn't terrible but nothing about it really popped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I just pulled this out of the oven and let it cool down enough to have a slice, and it's very good. I made the following modifications: 4 tablespoons of ground flax 1/3 cup sugar 1 can of pumpkin 2 chopped apples all whole wheat flour (not pastry) Added a little extra spice I think I went overboard on the cloves, as it's a little strong; next time I'll stick to the recipe on the spices. The sweetness is almost perfect, it wouldn't hurt if I had added more sugar but I'm really trying to cut sugar out of my diet. The apples that I added in are very chunky and moist and I think they make a nice addition to the bread and add some sweetness. I really like all of the healthy aspects of this bread and I think it will become a permanent addition to my recipe list :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is a WONDERFUL dairy free & egg free recipe! I used a bit more whole wheat flour & a little less all purpose flour than was called for to make the recipe more healthy and it still tasted great. I also used less than 1/3 cup sugar but I used homemade (unsweetened) applesauce, which was naturally very sweet, and I like my pumpkin bread more on the bread/hearty side than the sweet side. I baked this for my 1yo. so I dropped the batter in lightly oiled mini muffin pans, preheat the oven @ 325 and baked them for about 15 minutes. They came out perfect. They are moist and soft and a great healthy breakfast or snack for my little one (and me). This recipe yielded a little over 2 dozen mini muffins so I plopped the extra batter on a greased cookie sheet and baked those the same way. They're not as pretty but they still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This bread turned out really dense and glue-y. The only way to get it down was to slice it, butter it, and toast it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was really good! It had a different texture then other pumpkin quickbreads but I guessed that it might. It was good right away but great the next day, in fact we thought it just kept getting better! Because it is more dense, it was hard to tell if it was done. I baked the loaf for 65 minutes and my tester came out clean but the top of the center pieces were a bit doughy so next time I will bake longer. I doubled the recipe and made 1/2 into muffins and used the other half for a loaf. I used a lg. can of pumpkin puree and reduced the sugar per other reviews. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I make this all the time - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Best pumpkin bread I've ever had/made!!! If I hadn't made this I wouldn't have known it was vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Fantastic! Followed the update from Astrophe and used the whole can of pumpkin and no applesauce. Also increased whole wheat flour to 2/3 c. and white down to 1 c. Will probably use all whole wheat and some add'l gluten next time. Blended whole flax seeds in the blender to make flax seed meal. Made 12 muffins that were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Fantastic bread. I often make a pumpkin muffin (not vegan) that my family really likes, so I was not sure about this, but I am SO glad I made it. It is really good for you compared to traditional versions and is so moist and delicious. Some vegan things forgo the texture, but this one is SUPER. A for sure keeper. I ground the flax seed in my flour mill and will try that more in recipes for a little "kick" of healthy. Thank you ASTROPHE for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly (except substituted 1/2 c of the sugar with the equivalent of Stevia and used 1 c AP flour and 2/3 c ww flour) and the bread was so moist! I made mine into muffins, as I find it easier to get the 12 servings that way. Otherwise I don't quite get 12 slices out of the loaf! I baked them at 350 for 23 minutes. They came out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States