Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
For best results, make a day ahead of time ! I concur with reviewers who say that the flavours develop over a 24 hour period. They do. I reduced the sugar becasue I knew I would make a glaze for the bread and I added a hint of vanilla to the batter. The vanilla is not neceassary, I simply like vanilla. The flax seed will give the bread a different crumb texture. Some have defined it as "gooey". It is not "gooey", it is simply characteristic of flax. Yes, the bread is mosit. I recommend keeping a watchful eye on the baking process starting with the lowest cook time and increading it in increments of 5 mins, if needed. Your bake time will differ from oven to oven, obviously, and will also differ depending on the flour you use and the type of pan. I used a super shiny aluminum pan (Williams Sonoma) and lined it with parchment paper. The bread was done in about 50 minutes. I do not recommend dark pans for baking anything. With heavier batters, they tend to cook uneven. This is a good easy recipe. As an experienced cook, I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Unlike others, I think this actually needed a bit more sweetener for my taste, so next time I may use a blend of white and brown sugars. Texture was moist,not gummy. I will probably add some toasted walnuts next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I made this last night because I had some leftover pureed pumpkin and wanted to make something relatively healthy with it. The only change I made was using 1/2 cup of Splenda in place of 1/2 cup of the sugar, and adding a little more pumpkin and a little less applesauce. And this bread is GOOD. It's moist, it's well spiced, and pumpkin-y. Oh yeah, I added a few mini chocolate chips to appease my kids, but it would have been good without, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Pumpkin quick bread has been a staple in our house, but with a little one with egg and dairy allergies, i wanted to try out a new recipe. This was okay but I wasn't wow'd. I found the bread to be much too sweet. Even moreso than our traditional "unhealthy" recipe. I think if we try it again, I will cut way back on sugar and increase spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I make this bread once a week. It is our favorite with cream cheese frosting. It is healthy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very good! I used white whole wheat flour, added one egg, and switched half the sugar for honey. I baked it in a 9x13 pan, and it made a delicious dense and moist breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
AWESOME! I used regular whole wheat flour and the texture was still great. It was the PERFECT amount of sweetness and nuttiness with the flax. I also added pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
not terrible. definitely tastes healthy/fibrous. i threw in some raisins - definitely a good call. you need at least raisins or walnuts in there, otherwise - you will just be very sad eating this. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was incredibly simple and incredibly delicious. I took others' advice and only used about a cup of sugar (more than enough); I also used pumpkin pie spice since that's what I had on hand with a little extra cinnamon. I used all whole wheat flour and you can't tell the difference at all--King Arthur is my brand of choice. It's a very fine, delicate flour. It's very dense and moist in the middle. Next time I will probably add chopped pecans or walnuts to give it a little extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I've made these for breakfasts for my on-the-go family for the last two weeks. They all approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States