Pumpkin Flax Quickbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Unlike others, I think this actually needed a bit more sweetener for my taste, so next time I may use a blend of white and brown sugars. Texture was moist,not gummy. I will probably add some toasted walnuts next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I made this last night because I had some leftover pureed pumpkin and wanted to make something relatively healthy with it. The only change I made was using 1/2 cup of Splenda in place of 1/2 cup of the sugar, and adding a little more pumpkin and a little less applesauce. And this bread is GOOD. It's moist, it's well spiced, and pumpkin-y. Oh yeah, I added a few mini chocolate chips to appease my kids, but it would have been good without, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Pumpkin quick bread has been a staple in our house, but with a little one with egg and dairy allergies, i wanted to try out a new recipe. This was okay but I wasn't wow'd. I found the bread to be much too sweet. Even moreso than our traditional "unhealthy" recipe. I think if we try it again, I will cut way back on sugar and increase spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I make this bread once a week. It is our favorite with cream cheese frosting. It is healthy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very good! I used white whole wheat flour, added one egg, and switched half the sugar for honey. I baked it in a 9x13 pan, and it made a delicious dense and moist breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
AWESOME! I used regular whole wheat flour and the texture was still great. It was the PERFECT amount of sweetness and nuttiness with the flax. I also added pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
not terrible. definitely tastes healthy/fibrous. i threw in some raisins - definitely a good call. you need at least raisins or walnuts in there, otherwise - you will just be very sad eating this. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was incredibly simple and incredibly delicious. I took others' advice and only used about a cup of sugar (more than enough); I also used pumpkin pie spice since that's what I had on hand with a little extra cinnamon. I used all whole wheat flour and you can't tell the difference at all--King Arthur is my brand of choice. It's a very fine, delicate flour. It's very dense and moist in the middle. Next time I will probably add chopped pecans or walnuts to give it a little extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I've made these for breakfasts for my on-the-go family for the last two weeks. They all approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made this and found it a little too dense and missing something flavor wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PurePedigree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockeport, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States