Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Hello fellow reviewers. I'm not an experienced dump cake maker or eater, BUT, the 20 or 30 that I've had from pumpkin to berry have all been the same hence the word DUMP in the recipe title. That's what makes this recipe such a wonderful thing. You mix your ingrediants, put them in a dish, and then DUMP the cake part on top. For the 1 star raters, if you MUST have a bottom to this DUMP cake and serve it on a plate, put some of the cake batter on the bottom of your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I make this often, and always get great results! If I take it to work, it is gone by lunch! For a shortcut, I use Pumpkin Pie Spice and I just slice 1/2 cup butter over the top with the pecans! Comes out great every time! pp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
my co-workers certainly enjoyed this concoction, but to call it a cake is missleading. it's pumpkin pie filling with a crumb-cake topping. that's it. it doesn't turn into a cake in the oven (why did i think it would?) so if you want a twist on pumpkin pie, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Notes: Added extra cinnamon along with some nutmeg. After all the wet ingredients are mixed and dumped into pan, use the same bowl without cleaning it out. Add vanilla cake mix and melted butter together. Mix till crumbs form and add chopped nuts. Sprinkle all over cake. The crumb topping insures everything is adequately buttery and there is no pooling of butter. Awesome. New recipe for T-day:) Just made this for a second time and realized I only used a 15 oz. can of pumpkin the first time!!! It still was delicious and am making the same way this time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was very tasty, and smelled great while it was cooking. Be sure to let it cool completely or you will have Pumpkin Dump Pudding! Still tastes awesome though, nice change from pumpkin pie. Top this with some whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a wonderful fall dessert! My co-workers raved about it. Best served with Cool Whip. Next time I will combine the dry cake mix and melted butter in a small bowl and crumble the mixture on top. I had some dry cake portions on my first attempt that I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This was one of the best dump cakes I have ever eaten, even my non-pumpkin liking husband loved it! I'm a diabetic so I played with the recipe a bit. I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup SPLENDA, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup SUGAR TWIN brown sugar replacement. I also used PET fat free canned milk and instead of using butter on the top I sprayed it with I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S NOT BUTTER spray. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I make this recipe a lot. In fact, if there is a pot luck of any sort in the fall or winter at my church, everyone pretty much expects me to bring it. The only thing I do differently is that I use the pumpkin pie mix instead of the puree and cook it according to the recipe on the can. For me, it saves time and money since I don't keep a lot of spices at my house. This is also a great thing to make with kids since it just involves dumping and stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was awsome!! Took it to a football party, and came home with an empty pan. Here are the adjustments I made after reading other reviews. Used pumpkin pie filling to eliminate some steps with the spices. Used more butter (about 1 cup melted) combined the dry cake mix with about 1/2 the melted butter to distribute evenly, then drizzled the rest over the top. There weren't any dry bits after baking! Served with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Wow! My husband wanted an alternative to traditional pumpkin pie. He wanted something sweeter and without the crust, but loves the flavor. I saw this and since we love cherry dump cake, I thought we'd try it. It is very good, just what we were looking for, and so easy to make! It smells and tastes great. Great for Thanksgiving or Christmas parties for large groups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States