Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was such a great change to the original dump cake. I loved the spice cake on top instead of the yellow cake mix like normal. A GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmasMommy713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Taylor
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
my new favorite. It takes a little more work than a fruit dump cake, but SOOOO worth it. Better than Pumpkin Pie, by far! The spice mix on top is an awesome twist. I added more butter to the cake mix to make it a little more crumbly instead of having dry spots on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Was going through my recipe box and found I never rated this one. GREAT RECIPE! I used a white cake mix because I didn't have spice and it was just lovely. It was very sweet (not too sweet) and looked great. I've made it about a half dozen times. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Loved it. Thanks so much for sharing. Had not heard of a "dump" cake previously...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Serres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This cake is better than Pumpkin Pie according to my family! I made it for our Thanksgiving dinner and now I have been asked to make it once again for our Christmas dinner. Only this time I am going to try a Carrot Cake mix instead of Spice Cake and see if makes a difference to it. This recipe is a sure test also to see if your oven is level!lol Mine wasn't but it was enjoyed by all. If you like your deserts a little warm this one is great to warm up in the microwave to eat the leftovers. Its great with a little whip cream on top and a spoon of Vanilla Ice Cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Easy to prepare but I served this at a potluck and people were not sure if it was baked yams or what. Too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The first time I made this, it was for a meeting and people loved it! I used a plain yellow cake in place of a spice cake and added a little extra spice in the pumpkin mixture. People still talk about it, and one friend even sent it to her grandmother, the master cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
About this cake...The bottom layer has the exact texture of pumpkin pie. The top layer turns into a sort of crust. But this is important...You need to drizzle butter over almost every speck of cake powder or you will end up with areas of unbaked cake mix. I suggest you melt 1 and a half cups of butter instead of the called for 1 cup. Last night when I made this I almost came back with a negative review because I didn't like the way it tasted warm. Today, after it had sat in the refridgerator all night I have a totally different opinion. It is much better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This recipe sounds so good, but it didn't turn out for me. Perhaps I did something along the way to screw it up.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Goodfellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very easy. If you want to make it healthier, use 5-6 oz. whole raw milk instead of the condensed and add an extra egg. And of course use raw sugar or honey in 1/2 the amount of sugar that is called for. That worked great and it was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

An easy, peachy, dump cake ready in under an hour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States