Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
3 stars might be a little harsh on this recipe. Brought this to a family gathering and everyone said they really liked it; however, I was a bit disappointed. Although I am probably unfairly comparing it to another recipe that has a pumpkin mixure as the filling and a spice cake as a topping. The other recipe that I have tried uses sweetened condensed milk and cream cheese. It is far superior.. but with all the extra fat and calories why would it not be. I just thought this recipe was good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Ok, I gave this recipe four stars because it was very good, but I have to say that it was not exactly what I expected. This is not "cake-like" at all. The bottom layer has the flavor and texture of pumpkin pie, and the top layer has a crunchy texture. I actually liked this recipe very much, but I wish I hadn't told me guests it was a cake. The texture/flavor combinations reminded me of sweet potato casserole, only with pumpkin instead of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was really good. It was kind of like a crustless pumpkin pie with a struesel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is absolutely delicious! My family are all pumpkin pie lovers and we've decided that we will never make or buy a pumpkin pie again. Who needs it with this fantastic recipe/ 5 Stars all the way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a wonderful fall dessert! My co-workers raved about it. Best served with Cool Whip. Next time I will combine the dry cake mix and melted butter in a small bowl and crumble the mixture on top. I had some dry cake portions on my first attempt that I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Perfect for thanksgiving or winter comfort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was such a great change to the original dump cake. I loved the spice cake on top instead of the yellow cake mix like normal. A GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmasMommy713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Taylor
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
my new favorite. It takes a little more work than a fruit dump cake, but SOOOO worth it. Better than Pumpkin Pie, by far! The spice mix on top is an awesome twist. I added more butter to the cake mix to make it a little more crumbly instead of having dry spots on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Was going through my recipe box and found I never rated this one. GREAT RECIPE! I used a white cake mix because I didn't have spice and it was just lovely. It was very sweet (not too sweet) and looked great. I've made it about a half dozen times. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Loved it. Thanks so much for sharing. Had not heard of a "dump" cake previously...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Serres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States