Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Great flavor. I had to cook this much longer than suggested though and had to add more butter to the top powdery layer towards the end to get it to cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I make this recipe a lot. In fact, if there is a pot luck of any sort in the fall or winter at my church, everyone pretty much expects me to bring it. The only thing I do differently is that I use the pumpkin pie mix instead of the puree and cook it according to the recipe on the can. For me, it saves time and money since I don't keep a lot of spices at my house. This is also a great thing to make with kids since it just involves dumping and stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake was very easy to prepare and smelled wonderful while cooking.I let the cake cool for about twenty minutes and then served it slightly warm with vanilla ice cream. The crunchy, nutty topping really made this dish a hit with my family! This was a great twist on the old traditional pumpkin pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
3 stars might be a little harsh on this recipe. Brought this to a family gathering and everyone said they really liked it; however, I was a bit disappointed. Although I am probably unfairly comparing it to another recipe that has a pumpkin mixure as the filling and a spice cake as a topping. The other recipe that I have tried uses sweetened condensed milk and cream cheese. It is far superior.. but with all the extra fat and calories why would it not be. I just thought this recipe was good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Ok, I gave this recipe four stars because it was very good, but I have to say that it was not exactly what I expected. This is not "cake-like" at all. The bottom layer has the flavor and texture of pumpkin pie, and the top layer has a crunchy texture. I actually liked this recipe very much, but I wish I hadn't told me guests it was a cake. The texture/flavor combinations reminded me of sweet potato casserole, only with pumpkin instead of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was really good. It was kind of like a crustless pumpkin pie with a struesel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is absolutely delicious! My family are all pumpkin pie lovers and we've decided that we will never make or buy a pumpkin pie again. Who needs it with this fantastic recipe/ 5 Stars all the way!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a wonderful fall dessert! My co-workers raved about it. Best served with Cool Whip. Next time I will combine the dry cake mix and melted butter in a small bowl and crumble the mixture on top. I had some dry cake portions on my first attempt that I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Perfect for thanksgiving or winter comfort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was such a great change to the original dump cake. I loved the spice cake on top instead of the yellow cake mix like normal. A GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmasMommy713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States