Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This was one of the best dump cakes I have ever eaten, even my non-pumpkin liking husband loved it! I'm a diabetic so I played with the recipe a bit. I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup SPLENDA, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup SUGAR TWIN brown sugar replacement. I also used PET fat free canned milk and instead of using butter on the top I sprayed it with I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S NOT BUTTER spray. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
There was too much pumpkin filling, and the texture was not as firm as I'd like (even though I let it cool completely). Not really a cake - more like a pudding. The melted butter didn't spread evenly, leaving dry spots of cake mix. And the pecans BURNED, tasting bad and making the cake unattractive. If you plan to make this, add the pecans during the last few minutes of baking, or as a garnish after cake cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This was excellent!!! I will it make over and over. I was worried that there wasn't enough butter on the top, so I melted another stick of butter over the top. I bet it would have turned out fine according to the original recipe, but we loved the extra butter. MY TIPS FOR THIS RECIPE: Better texture when allowed to cool (it solidfies more). Once its cool, it cuts easily into nice squares. If you try to serve it too hot, just like a pumpkin pie, it will be too wet. If your top has browned too fast, try using an oven thermometer to make sure you oven is heating properly. I don't think the negative reviews were fair at all, but everyone is entitled to their opinion. Here's mine.. MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I used white cake mix instead of the spiced cake and it still tasted great. It tasted more like a coffee cake than a pumpkin pie. The topping was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Not only was this easy but excellent...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
it was ok, but the pumpkin filling could stand a little doctoring. i feel that if you cut the amount of filling by 1/3 or 1/2 it would be quite good. also, i suggest, instead of pouring melted butter, which invariably results in uneven distribution because of the nooks and crannies of the dry mix crumbles, that you simply slice up the butter and lay them over the top evenly. this seems to work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Excellant!! Friends and family really liked it and it was so easy. I did change the 1/2 cup of butter to 1-1/2 sticks as the cake didn't seem to have enough moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
The pumpkin flavor and spices did not come through very well. The bottom was too mushy and the top part of cake mix did not cook evenly despite the butter being evenly sprinkled over it. I set the oven at 350 degrees and baked for 55 minutes. The cake came out very dark and almost burnt. 50 minutes is more than enough time at 350 degrees. I was not happy with the results and probably will not bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
BEWARE!! THIS IS NOT A CAKE. IT IS PUMPKIN PLOP!! IT IS QUICK AND EASY TO PREPARE AND TASTES OK BUT NOT GREAT. PREPARE TO SERVE IN A BOWL AND EAT WITH A SPOON.IF YOU WANT A REAL PUMPKIN CAKE RECIPE, CONTINUE YOUR SEARCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
My husband and I thought this was better than pumpkin pie will make over and over again. Just make sure you wet the dry cake mix on top with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States