Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This cake is better than Pumpkin Pie according to my family! I made it for our Thanksgiving dinner and now I have been asked to make it once again for our Christmas dinner. Only this time I am going to try a Carrot Cake mix instead of Spice Cake and see if makes a difference to it. This recipe is a sure test also to see if your oven is level!lol Mine wasn't but it was enjoyed by all. If you like your deserts a little warm this one is great to warm up in the microwave to eat the leftovers. Its great with a little whip cream on top and a spoon of Vanilla Ice Cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Easy to prepare but I served this at a potluck and people were not sure if it was baked yams or what. Too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The first time I made this, it was for a meeting and people loved it! I used a plain yellow cake in place of a spice cake and added a little extra spice in the pumpkin mixture. People still talk about it, and one friend even sent it to her grandmother, the master cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
About this cake...The bottom layer has the exact texture of pumpkin pie. The top layer turns into a sort of crust. But this is important...You need to drizzle butter over almost every speck of cake powder or you will end up with areas of unbaked cake mix. I suggest you melt 1 and a half cups of butter instead of the called for 1 cup. Last night when I made this I almost came back with a negative review because I didn't like the way it tasted warm. Today, after it had sat in the refridgerator all night I have a totally different opinion. It is much better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This recipe sounds so good, but it didn't turn out for me. Perhaps I did something along the way to screw it up.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very easy. If you want to make it healthier, use 5-6 oz. whole raw milk instead of the condensed and add an extra egg. And of course use raw sugar or honey in 1/2 the amount of sugar that is called for. That worked great and it was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I don't know what went wrong with this one. I ended up with a baking dish full of mushy pumpkin mix and a layer of uncooked dry cake mix. I checked the oven temp and it was correct. This was one dump cake I really had to dump!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is a great alternative to traditional pumpkin pie. Be sure to let it cool completely, though, it is much more flavorful that way. I will definitely make this for the holidays this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I loved it! I used a cinnamon swirl cake instead of the spice cake mix and it turned out great! Right before taking it out of the oven, I put some marshmallows on top and let them get golden. I like this dump cake better than pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Hello fellow reviewers. I'm not an experienced dump cake maker or eater, BUT, the 20 or 30 that I've had from pumpkin to berry have all been the same hence the word DUMP in the recipe title. That's what makes this recipe such a wonderful thing. You mix your ingrediants, put them in a dish, and then DUMP the cake part on top. For the 1 star raters, if you MUST have a bottom to this DUMP cake and serve it on a plate, put some of the cake batter on the bottom of your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States