Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was such a great change to the original dump cake. I loved the spice cake on top instead of the yellow cake mix like normal. A GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmasMommy713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Taylor
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
my new favorite. It takes a little more work than a fruit dump cake, but SOOOO worth it. Better than Pumpkin Pie, by far! The spice mix on top is an awesome twist. I added more butter to the cake mix to make it a little more crumbly instead of having dry spots on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Was going through my recipe box and found I never rated this one. GREAT RECIPE! I used a white cake mix because I didn't have spice and it was just lovely. It was very sweet (not too sweet) and looked great. I've made it about a half dozen times. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Loved it. Thanks so much for sharing. Had not heard of a "dump" cake previously...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Serres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This cake is better than Pumpkin Pie according to my family! I made it for our Thanksgiving dinner and now I have been asked to make it once again for our Christmas dinner. Only this time I am going to try a Carrot Cake mix instead of Spice Cake and see if makes a difference to it. This recipe is a sure test also to see if your oven is level!lol Mine wasn't but it was enjoyed by all. If you like your deserts a little warm this one is great to warm up in the microwave to eat the leftovers. Its great with a little whip cream on top and a spoon of Vanilla Ice Cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Easy to prepare but I served this at a potluck and people were not sure if it was baked yams or what. Too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The first time I made this, it was for a meeting and people loved it! I used a plain yellow cake in place of a spice cake and added a little extra spice in the pumpkin mixture. People still talk about it, and one friend even sent it to her grandmother, the master cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
About this cake...The bottom layer has the exact texture of pumpkin pie. The top layer turns into a sort of crust. But this is important...You need to drizzle butter over almost every speck of cake powder or you will end up with areas of unbaked cake mix. I suggest you melt 1 and a half cups of butter instead of the called for 1 cup. Last night when I made this I almost came back with a negative review because I didn't like the way it tasted warm. Today, after it had sat in the refridgerator all night I have a totally different opinion. It is much better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This recipe sounds so good, but it didn't turn out for me. Perhaps I did something along the way to screw it up.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Goodfellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very easy. If you want to make it healthier, use 5-6 oz. whole raw milk instead of the condensed and add an extra egg. And of course use raw sugar or honey in 1/2 the amount of sugar that is called for. That worked great and it was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States