Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was really good! I had tried something like this a couple years ago at a work pot-luck, but never got the recipe from that coworker. After looking at several recipes, I thought this one might be it, and it was close enough! The only thing I changed- I used a yellow cake mix instead of the spice cake. It turned out great! I'll be making it again (my husband has already requested it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Yum yum yum!! This is a great recipe, and immediately made it to my husband's favorite list. I agree with previous posts--cut the spices and use a large can of pumpkin pie mix in place of the pureed pumpkin and spices. It makes it even easier! (BUT, the recipe is absolutely PERFECT the way it is!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was awsome!! Took it to a football party, and came home with an empty pan. Here are the adjustments I made after reading other reviews. Used pumpkin pie filling to eliminate some steps with the spices. Used more butter (about 1 cup melted) combined the dry cake mix with about 1/2 the melted butter to distribute evenly, then drizzled the rest over the top. There weren't any dry bits after baking! Served with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This recipe is great. It is super simple and taste great. I am still craving it even after my husband and I finished the 9x13 inch cake/pie. If you are going to family's house for Thanksgiving and are responsible for desert take this one, everyone will enjoy. P.S. Don't change the recipe, it is delicious just the way it is. Thanks for sharing Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this for work and forgot to take it. My family LOVED it! I used half of the cake mix on top but that was the only variation. It cut down on the sugar for the diabetics in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
made 3 for holidays and everyone wanted recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
OMGosh! Better than pumpkin pie! I helped my mom make this and it was delicious! I've only had it twice and it's by far my most favorite thanksgiving dessert. Darling and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Great flavor. I had to cook this much longer than suggested though and had to add more butter to the top powdery layer towards the end to get it to cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I make this recipe a lot. In fact, if there is a pot luck of any sort in the fall or winter at my church, everyone pretty much expects me to bring it. The only thing I do differently is that I use the pumpkin pie mix instead of the puree and cook it according to the recipe on the can. For me, it saves time and money since I don't keep a lot of spices at my house. This is also a great thing to make with kids since it just involves dumping and stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake was very easy to prepare and smelled wonderful while cooking.I let the cake cool for about twenty minutes and then served it slightly warm with vanilla ice cream. The crunchy, nutty topping really made this dish a hit with my family! This was a great twist on the old traditional pumpkin pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States