Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe is so good and so easy. The spice cake topping was over the top. I really liked it and am putting it in my grandkids recipe book. Thank so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I gave this a 4 and made it a 5 by drizzling caramel over the top after it was baked and cooled. Also, served it with whipped cream. Won 1st place in a contest at a cake walk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Yummm!! Followed the recipe exactly except for the cloves. For all you pumpkin pie lovers, try this for a delicious change. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This version of dump cake was great. I've tried the cherry pie filling/pineapple version before and it is way too sweet for me. However this one is just right. I did make an interesting substitution though. I was out of canned pumpkin, so used a 40 oz can of sweet potatoes, drained. I just added the chunks of sweet potatoes to all the other ingredients and used an electric mixer to mash the sweet potatoes and mix everything at the same time. I took it to a potluck dinner and got great reviews. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My school age kids loved it and that is high praise. I did have to substitute a white cake for the spice cake, because that is what was in the pantry. I sprinkled some pumpkin pie spice over the cake mix for the spice effect. I also omitted the pecans because the troop I fed doesn't like nuts. It was delicious. I'm making it for friends today and am going to follow the recipe exactly, but it's good to know that I can substitute and still get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
If you like pumpkin pie you will love this! I made it exactly as written and it turned out very good. Leftovers still good 2 days later. Definitely use a spice cake mix. I wonder how a graham cracker crust would be on the bottom but not sure I want to fool around with such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Topping was very crumbly unless I added a ton of butter. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It was a hit at my student apartment housing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Notes: Added extra cinnamon along with some nutmeg. After all the wet ingredients are mixed and dumped into pan, use the same bowl without cleaning it out. Add vanilla cake mix and melted butter together. Mix till crumbs form and add chopped nuts. Sprinkle all over cake. The crumb topping insures everything is adequately buttery and there is no pooling of butter. Awesome. New recipe for T-day:) Just made this for a second time and realized I only used a 15 oz. can of pumpkin the first time!!! It still was delicious and am making the same way this time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Really nice for a fall day with a cup of coffee.I made it by the recipe, and I don't think I would change anything except add some more pecans. I will make it again, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States