Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious! Thank-you for sharing Bea. My husband thinks it is better than pumpkin pie and I have to agree. I did substitute fresh pumpkin puree for canned this time. I used low fat sweetened condensed milk instead of plain milk. I left out 1/2 the sugar and two of the egg yolks in the pumpkin part. It was nice and light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Likens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
You can use white cake mix too. Better if left sit in the fridge for a day. It is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
It was a chilly day in the end of September and my pumpkin craving kicked in. I did a quick search and this recipe looked pretty easy and sounded pretty good. Lo and behold I had all the ingredients so I gave it a whirl. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly- with the exception I didn't have pumpkin pie spice. So I added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of ginger, and 1 teaspoon of nutmeg instead. I also lack a pastry blender and food processor, so I mixed the crumble topping by hand (ie. with my bare hands). I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I used Temp-tations ceramic bakeware, so my bake time was 65 minutes until the top looked nice and brown. My grandma (the best dessert chef in the universe) is my main critic and after the first bite she said, "I need this recipe". Success! The family LOVED this dessert, and my husband (my 2nd best critic) said, "this is definitely a keeper". I agree with the other reviewers that state this is better after a day in the fridge when all the flavors really set in. Which is convenient, so I can make it a day in advance of a dinner party or pot luck. Positively delicious and I will ABSOLUTELY add this recipe to my recipe binder-- which is a collection of delicious recipes I give to newlyweds. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben N Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
refrigerate prior to cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
We loved this recipe! I made it for a potluck and all raved about it, including the kids. I read the other reviews and added a teaspoon more pumpkin pie spice and thought it was just right. I did find that baking time was a bit longer and baked for 1 hour instead. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving, it was the most loved dessert. I used butter pecan cake mix instead of yellow and pecans instead of walnuts. Will make it every year now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
easy and delicious recipe. I followed the recipe to a tee, used canned pumpkin and added my own spices individually, because I ran out of a pumpkin pie spice. I agree with the other reviewers about it being on the sweet side, but I personally prefer my desserts to be a bit rich, (that way I feel satisfied with a bit less). If you are not into the sweet stuff, use less sugar. Using both the cake mix in addition to the white and brown sugars tends to lend a sweeter mixture. I took this to a gathering and one friend of ours actually had three huge pieces. everyone said they enjoyed it and I personally LOVED it. I will make this again every year. It is now a staple for my Fall desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and have tried it with different types of cake mixes: Yellow, spice, and chocolate, with chocolate being the preferred by my family! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is cake is so good it is RIDICULOUS. I didn't have much to make the topping, but I did have some cream cheese frosting, so I drizzled that over the top. Seriously, I'd eat the whole thing if no one was watching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I didn't read all 140 reviews so if someone has already suggested this I'm sorry. Like other reviewers I added vanilla extract (a couple of dashes) to the crust and filling. I also added 1 pkg of jello pumpkin pudding, 1 dash nutmeg, 1 dash pumpkin pie spice, 1 dash ground cloves, and 1 dash powdered ginger. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar for topping. The key is letting it sit for a coupla hours. Don't serve just made. This is awesome & easy!!! Definitely could be made the day before and served at room temp. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States