Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Good recipe. I used the canned pumpkin that already has spices and sugar in it. I might add a bit more spice next time, but it was fine as is. This recipe was good out of the oven but tasted MUCH better the next morning. If I were to make it again I would allow at least 12 hours before serving to allow the flavors to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is excellent! I halved the recipe, used a French vanilla cake mix (Mmmm) and cinnamon instead of pie spice and left out the nuts. Came out great, BUT---is even better the next day nuked in the microwave for about 30 seconds. The top gets all gooey and moist and WOW, is it ever delicious...A must try! I'm taking THIS to Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is amazing. My family loved it and I have some fussy eaters. I didn't have some of the ingredients to make an actual pumpkin pie so we opted for this one and I am so glad that I did. I think we all liked it better than pumpkin pie and it's so easy (my 3 year old helped make it)! Thanks so much for the great recipe! P.S. One change I did make was that I didn't have any pumpkin spice so I added A LOT of cinnamon probably about 2 Tbsp. if not more - I didn't measure, about 1 1/2 tsp. of ground all spice and about 1 1/2 tsp. of ground nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I make this every year for my friend's Fall Feast; leftovers never make it home. My original recipe is very close to this one with some changes. I use 1/4 cup melted butter in the crust. Substitute a can of pumpkin pie mix instead of pumpkin, eliminate the sugar and pumpkin pie spice, and use only 2 eggs in the mixture. The topping uses 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon / nutmeg to taste in the topping. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This is excellent -- my kids love it!! The next time I make it, I will add extra spice (a little bland) and will add a bit more brown sugar to the pumpkin mixture. Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I never thought I would say this--ever--but this was way too sweet. In fact, the sweetness overpowered the pumpkin taste. Maybe without the added sugar to the topping and cutting down on sugar in pumpkin filling would help. If I make it again, I'll take the suggestion of another reviewer and double the pumpkin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Oh my goodness. I didn't come in with the intention of making this one today, but had to try it. SO glad I did! This is a fantastic dessert - sort of like a cake bottom, pumpkin pie middle with a crumble topping. Everyone in the house loved it and requested that this be put on the repeat list! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I bet it would be great with some molasses as well. (And, I made a mistake with the white sugar, and put it in the batter - it still turned out just fine!) YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Pretty good recipe. However i would recommend you go light on the sugar in the pumpkin mixture. the cakemix + butter topping is very very rich, so it's best to go a little lighter on the pumpkin layer. Would have enjoyed more if the upper layer wasn't so sweet and buttery. Will pobably make again but try to lighten up the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This is a nice change. Next time I'll add ground cloves and a bit more sugar to the filling. I used pecans instead of walnuts on half; the other half I left plain for those who can't eat nuts. Nice when served cold with a generous squirt of real whipped topping! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My husband absolutely loved this recipe and now insists it must be made instead of our traditional Thanksgiving pumpkin pie. We couldn't stay out of it. Delicious and full of sweet decadence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carie Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States