Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I had to substitute a can of pineapple because I only had a small can of pumpkin. Everyone loved it. I will still try to make this recipe again with the large can of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was really good as is BUT I modified the recipe to the tastes of my family. I left the crust the same, but in the filling I decreased the sugar to 5/16 cup (which turns out to be 5 tablespoons OR 1/4 plus 1 tablespoon) and left everything else the same. In the topping I used margarine instead of butter, only 1/4 cup of sugar, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and no nuts. We thought the modified version was better because it was still rich, but not overly rich. This makes a lot! We had 6 people at thanksgiving and we only ate about 1/4 of the cake! I would recommend this, but perhaps thinks about modifying the sugar so that it isn't soooooo rich! I didn't think it was bland at all. It had the perfect amount of spice for me. I will continue to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie_monster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
VERY easy to make and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
delicious. it was very easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanaval
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Wow this was amazing! I did not expect this dessert to be as great after reading a couple of reviews that had said this was better the day after. This was delicious though! The only thing I changed about this recipe was the topping. Rather than the white sugar I used raw sugar cane crystals. I used about 3/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup. I added the raw sugar, remaining cake mix, butter, and chopped nuts to the food processor. This happened to crush down the walnuts even more, but the topping was wonderful! I also recommend this recipe for those who do not like traditional pie crusts too, like me! The bottom cake crust was a great idea! And the pumpkin filling was perfect! This deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanaval

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I would really give this recipe 3.5 stars. It's a good recipe and everyone liked it at the party I made it for, but I think it could be a little more flavorful. I'm not sure what to add to it, though, for that extra umph. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I used the pureed pulp from a peanut pumpkin that I had baked. Since the pulp was a bit thinner than the canned pumpkin I added about a teaspoon of cornstarch. I left the nuts off the top since I made this as a snack item for the children at the child care center where I work. I prepared two pans. The children and staff really enjoyed the dessert. Staff made copies of this recipe to make at home. This was a great hit with all ages. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
used this for a catering......I didn't try it but I didn't get any excitement from it....may try again for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made these as cupcakes. HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Okay, so I don't like pumpkin pie all that much...this was AMAZING!! I do a Halloween dinner and everyone there LOVED it!! It cut up so nice and pretty to~I'm now a pumpkin desert lover! SHHHHH! I did make it reduced fat and sugar free, no one noticed ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States