Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving, it was the most loved dessert. I used butter pecan cake mix instead of yellow and pecans instead of walnuts. Will make it every year now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
easy and delicious recipe. I followed the recipe to a tee, used canned pumpkin and added my own spices individually, because I ran out of a pumpkin pie spice. I agree with the other reviewers about it being on the sweet side, but I personally prefer my desserts to be a bit rich, (that way I feel satisfied with a bit less). If you are not into the sweet stuff, use less sugar. Using both the cake mix in addition to the white and brown sugars tends to lend a sweeter mixture. I took this to a gathering and one friend of ours actually had three huge pieces. everyone said they enjoyed it and I personally LOVED it. I will make this again every year. It is now a staple for my Fall desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and have tried it with different types of cake mixes: Yellow, spice, and chocolate, with chocolate being the preferred by my family! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is cake is so good it is RIDICULOUS. I didn't have much to make the topping, but I did have some cream cheese frosting, so I drizzled that over the top. Seriously, I'd eat the whole thing if no one was watching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I didn't read all 140 reviews so if someone has already suggested this I'm sorry. Like other reviewers I added vanilla extract (a couple of dashes) to the crust and filling. I also added 1 pkg of jello pumpkin pudding, 1 dash nutmeg, 1 dash pumpkin pie spice, 1 dash ground cloves, and 1 dash powdered ginger. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar for topping. The key is letting it sit for a coupla hours. Don't serve just made. This is awesome & easy!!! Definitely could be made the day before and served at room temp. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
really good. I liked it better after it was chilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edaMama^^

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It is really better than any pumpkin pie I have ever tasted. I will definitely make this for Thanksgiving and many more times. I used pecans and brown sugar as others suggested. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Knapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious! The only thing I would change is to add more topping. I think the next time I make it I will add a cup of flour and double the sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Really good. Brought it to a church function and got lots of compliments. It was the first time I made it and had to go get seconds before it was all gone. Definitely will make again. Yummy! (Note: I made without walnuts. Didn't have any. I also had to sub the pumpkin pie spice because I couldn't find it. Other than that, I followed the directions.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States