Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Pumpkin. First there's pumpkin pie then there's pumpkin cake and there's pumpkin bread . But none of that can get a hair close to this pumpkin dessert. And that is because it is sweeter, softer, and way more Fall-like. Take a bite of it , you'll be taking a bite of Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
So much better to have the cake on the bottom AND on top! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this recipe today based on the amazing reviews!! It turned out great. Made it for a gathering and everyone loved it. Nice with whip cream. I used a yellow cake mix as thats all I had and it was fine. I also used 3 T of pumpkin pie spice as I like alot of spice. I found a recipe for the spice on line which was just fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Just like Mom's but better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious! Thank-you for sharing Bea. My husband thinks it is better than pumpkin pie and I have to agree. I did substitute fresh pumpkin puree for canned this time. I used low fat sweetened condensed milk instead of plain milk. I left out 1/2 the sugar and two of the egg yolks in the pumpkin part. It was nice and light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Likens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
You can use white cake mix too. Better if left sit in the fridge for a day. It is plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
It was a chilly day in the end of September and my pumpkin craving kicked in. I did a quick search and this recipe looked pretty easy and sounded pretty good. Lo and behold I had all the ingredients so I gave it a whirl. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly- with the exception I didn't have pumpkin pie spice. So I added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of ginger, and 1 teaspoon of nutmeg instead. I also lack a pastry blender and food processor, so I mixed the crumble topping by hand (ie. with my bare hands). I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I used Temp-tations ceramic bakeware, so my bake time was 65 minutes until the top looked nice and brown. My grandma (the best dessert chef in the universe) is my main critic and after the first bite she said, "I need this recipe". Success! The family LOVED this dessert, and my husband (my 2nd best critic) said, "this is definitely a keeper". I agree with the other reviewers that state this is better after a day in the fridge when all the flavors really set in. Which is convenient, so I can make it a day in advance of a dinner party or pot luck. Positively delicious and I will ABSOLUTELY add this recipe to my recipe binder-- which is a collection of delicious recipes I give to newlyweds. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben N Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
refrigerate prior to cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
We loved this recipe! I made it for a potluck and all raved about it, including the kids. I read the other reviews and added a teaspoon more pumpkin pie spice and thought it was just right. I did find that baking time was a bit longer and baked for 1 hour instead. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving, it was the most loved dessert. I used butter pecan cake mix instead of yellow and pecans instead of walnuts. Will make it every year now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States