Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Good recipe. I used the canned pumpkin that already has spices and sugar in it. I might add a bit more spice next time, but it was fine as is. This recipe was good out of the oven but tasted MUCH better the next morning. If I were to make it again I would allow at least 12 hours before serving to allow the flavors to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CariCooks
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This is a very good recipe. It did have a few more steps than I anticipated but worth it. I think I will bring this to Thanksgiving dinner. It is a nice change from pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is excellent. My family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is one of my favorite pumpkin desserts! Everyone who has it loves it and it is so easy to make. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Hmmm...I was SO excited to make this after reading the reviews, but was disappointed with the end result. Seemed too "pumkin pie spicy" to me! I used the Allrecipes recipe for Pumpkin Pie Spice. Was that the problem? Anyway, probably won't make again - sorry! If you're trying to feed a crowd, the recipe makes quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Pretty good recipe. However i would recommend you go light on the sugar in the pumpkin mixture. the cakemix + butter topping is very very rich, so it's best to go a little lighter on the pumpkin layer. Would have enjoyed more if the upper layer wasn't so sweet and buttery. Will pobably make again but try to lighten up the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Yummy. I made it for church refreshments and there wasn't any left! One lady even told me that she doesn't like pumpkin, but could she have the recipe? :) I used pecans instead of walnuts and I did add a bit of cinnamon when I made the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made this recipe last evening for family, and they LOVED it. Everyone said it was better than pumpkin pie. I took the advice of others and added a little more brown sugar. I also didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so used cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves. It was wonderful. My 3 year old daughter couldn't stop eating it. I've already been "ordered" to bring this to Thanksgiving this year. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is excellent! I halved the recipe, used a French vanilla cake mix (Mmmm) and cinnamon instead of pie spice and left out the nuts. Came out great, BUT---is even better the next day nuked in the microwave for about 30 seconds. The top gets all gooey and moist and WOW, is it ever delicious...A must try! I'm taking THIS to Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I never thought I would say this--ever--but this was way too sweet. In fact, the sweetness overpowered the pumpkin taste. Maybe without the added sugar to the topping and cutting down on sugar in pumpkin filling would help. If I make it again, I'll take the suggestion of another reviewer and double the pumpkin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States