Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Hmmm...I was SO excited to make this after reading the reviews, but was disappointed with the end result. Seemed too "pumkin pie spicy" to me! I used the Allrecipes recipe for Pumpkin Pie Spice. Was that the problem? Anyway, probably won't make again - sorry! If you're trying to feed a crowd, the recipe makes quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Pretty good recipe. However i would recommend you go light on the sugar in the pumpkin mixture. the cakemix + butter topping is very very rich, so it's best to go a little lighter on the pumpkin layer. Would have enjoyed more if the upper layer wasn't so sweet and buttery. Will pobably make again but try to lighten up the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Yummy. I made it for church refreshments and there wasn't any left! One lady even told me that she doesn't like pumpkin, but could she have the recipe? :) I used pecans instead of walnuts and I did add a bit of cinnamon when I made the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made this recipe last evening for family, and they LOVED it. Everyone said it was better than pumpkin pie. I took the advice of others and added a little more brown sugar. I also didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so used cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves. It was wonderful. My 3 year old daughter couldn't stop eating it. I've already been "ordered" to bring this to Thanksgiving this year. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is excellent! I halved the recipe, used a French vanilla cake mix (Mmmm) and cinnamon instead of pie spice and left out the nuts. Came out great, BUT---is even better the next day nuked in the microwave for about 30 seconds. The top gets all gooey and moist and WOW, is it ever delicious...A must try! I'm taking THIS to Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I never thought I would say this--ever--but this was way too sweet. In fact, the sweetness overpowered the pumpkin taste. Maybe without the added sugar to the topping and cutting down on sugar in pumpkin filling would help. If I make it again, I'll take the suggestion of another reviewer and double the pumpkin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
REALLY GOOD! I will make this again and again. It's easy and has a nice consistency. Best PUMPKIN dish ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Oh my goodness. I didn't come in with the intention of making this one today, but had to try it. SO glad I did! This is a fantastic dessert - sort of like a cake bottom, pumpkin pie middle with a crumble topping. Everyone in the house loved it and requested that this be put on the repeat list! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I bet it would be great with some molasses as well. (And, I made a mistake with the white sugar, and put it in the batter - it still turned out just fine!) YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This is so rich and good. I can tell I am going to be making this a lot more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My family doesn't like pumpkin pie so I made this instead, they couldn't get enough! I used pecans instead of walnuts and it was a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARA1295

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States