Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I make this every year for my friend's Fall Feast; leftovers never make it home. My original recipe is very close to this one with some changes. I use 1/4 cup melted butter in the crust. Substitute a can of pumpkin pie mix instead of pumpkin, eliminate the sugar and pumpkin pie spice, and use only 2 eggs in the mixture. The topping uses 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon / nutmeg to taste in the topping. Turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
It's a shame you can't give this more stars. It was incredibly delicious. Such nice velvety texture. I made this for a football party and it was gobbled up. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Sardinia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Made this exactly according to the instruction. However, realized after 20 minutes of baking that the dish of chopped walnuts was still sitting on the counter...totally forgot about them, but it was OK. Will make this again, but it won't replace good old pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This recipe comes out perfect every time. It serves more than a pie and it is a little sweeter. This is a great addition to holiday get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My husband absolutely loved this recipe and now insists it must be made instead of our traditional Thanksgiving pumpkin pie. We couldn't stay out of it. Delicious and full of sweet decadence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carie Parker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this exactly as written except minus the nuts. The pumpkin flavor is very similar to many other pumpkin dessert recipes, but the crust and topping give it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I was expecting something sweeter but with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or some whip cream on top the sweetness is just right. Nonetheless I would consider adding more brown sugar next time. Even people who won't eat pumpkin pie had a bite of this and said they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Thought the pumpkin mixture was not quite sweet enough and added 1/4 C more brown sugar. Great dessert... kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe is amazing. My family loved it and I have some fussy eaters. I didn't have some of the ingredients to make an actual pumpkin pie so we opted for this one and I am so glad that I did. I think we all liked it better than pumpkin pie and it's so easy (my 3 year old helped make it)! Thanks so much for the great recipe! P.S. One change I did make was that I didn't have any pumpkin spice so I added A LOT of cinnamon probably about 2 Tbsp. if not more - I didn't measure, about 1 1/2 tsp. of ground all spice and about 1 1/2 tsp. of ground nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Good recipe. I used the canned pumpkin that already has spices and sugar in it. I might add a bit more spice next time, but it was fine as is. This recipe was good out of the oven but tasted MUCH better the next morning. If I were to make it again I would allow at least 12 hours before serving to allow the flavors to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Pumpkin Cheesecake

Discover the simple trick to perfect, crack-free pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States