Pumpkin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
SO gooood!!! Super easy and so much better than plain pumpkin pie. I took the advice of some other reviewers and threw in some extra sugar and spice....you can never have too much! I also agree with others who say it's even better the next day, yum! Thanks for a great concoction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My family, who are not pumpkin fans, ate this without complaint. It was better the second day, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I unfortunately didn't care for this. It is like a dessert with an identity crisis! Part cake, part pumpkin pie...I'd rather make both of those items separately, but each of really good quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My 3rd time making it, I keep tweaking it, because I didn't care for the spongy bottom-no flavor crust. Also, the middle needs some more flavor. So far, I have changed the bottom crust by adding 1/3 cup of brown sugar and half tsp vanilla, and only use the white of the egg. It was too wet using the WHOLE egg. This made a sugar cookie-like spreadable dough that you can easily spread with your fingers without being a sticky mess. Second..I added a bit more spice to the pumpkin center and some cinnamon and a little extra brown sugar, a touch of vanilla and a dash of salt. Third, the TOP crust...USE brown sugar instead....white...its much better, and be sure your butter is CHILLED. If it doesn't come out crumbly enough..just add a little more brown sugar and flour. Give it a try...maybe someone else can come with some ideas too, its a great base recipe!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I thought that we would really like this because my family loves pumpkin so much, but we didn't think it was all that great. First we didn't care for the cake mix crust and second, we missed the more custard-like filling in pumpkin pie. It tasted nice, but we just didn't care for the texture of the dessert. It was fun to try but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Everyone thinks this is fabulous. My only change to the recipe is that I use hickory nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this with spice cake mix and extra spices. It was very good, but keep thinking a crispier bottom would be better. Maybe a gingersnap crust. Anyway, it was an easy and good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I've made this for years and everybody loves it, especially the men. Try using the spice cake mix with the plain canned pumpkin for a really good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoidalot
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
loved this recipe. I made mine in a bundt pan for effect. Simple great flavor. Anyone with baking or novice will love. Thanks for submitting this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoidalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
YUM! I brought this to work and it was gone within an hour. A nice change from pumpkin pie. My only comment/complaint is that I felt the 'crust' needs something, maybe some finely crushed nuts for texture, it seemed kinda blah. Other than that, excellent! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States