Pumpkin Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This quick and easy recipe got rave reviews from my family. Thank you for the praise I recieved which really belongs to you. Cathi32
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Very Good! I didn't have any nutmeg so I added 3/4 teaspoon pumpkin spice! The pie turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This pie turned out very nice. I took fresh pumpkin that I cooked in the pressure cooker. It was a simple recipe. I will use it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I can't believe I finally found the recipe that beats out the store bought kind (you know Mrs. S....!) Couldn't find them in the stores last year. They must not make the pumpkin custard anymore. But hubby says never cook store bought again. This is definitely better! You have to use can milk. Makes its creamier! Thanks Carolyn you made my husband very happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
YUM! This is a great recipe! This recipe does leave a little extra filling so instead of reducing ingredients (I have used this recipe previously) I DOUBLED THEM this time! And I got three pies. I need extra because its goes so fast and I have to give a pie to my in-laws. Oh, and because this is a custard pie, canned milk works best and makes the pie smooth and creamy! This is my permanent pumpkin custard pie recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this with Splenda...and it tasted fantastic...My dad just LOVED it. Couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Going to make again this year...brought down the house last Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this without the crust as I tend to eat mostly gluten-free. I baked it in a casserole dish. It tastes delicious, a light custard flavour, rich in pumpkin pie taste(I used half and half not milk; 1/2 cup sugar total and added some cardamom as well. mmmm :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Paronen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I used mini graham cracker shells. First time I did 350 for 20-25 min nd seasoned wth fall spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves) to taste. I baked a fresh pumpkin and mixed with an immersion blender. Since baking the pumpkin Carmelites it I omitted the brown sugar on the second run. Turned out great! I even forgot about the flour the second run and no problems for any gluten people.. Actually more custard like without the flour. Point being, great versatile pumpkin custard base that gives you that creamy sweet pumpkin filling. Easy to make it with your own flare... I top it with a little brown sugar burbon whip cream (1/2c whipping cream, 2 tbsp brown sugar 1-2 tsp honey whiskey and a dash of cinnamon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made a double recipe for 2-10 in. shells. I did not follow the recipe's seasoning because a few people said it was not quite enough. I used 2T of pumpkin pie spice. I still rate this with 4 stars because the brown sugar gave it good flavor and the texture was perfect! I baked it at 350 for 1hr until firm. The custard rose in the oven and cooled to be flat and even, but no thick skin as with other recipes I've tried. This recipe was easy to experiment with-it is a great base recipe for a seasonal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States