Pumpkin Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
a. This recipe made too much for a 9", deep dish crust. Just keep that in mind so you don't dump it all in at once and have it overflow! b. The 375 oven I think is too hot. It browned far too quickly without setting the custard. c. For more flavor, try adding some extra ground clove, ginger, and/or allspice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Very Good! I didn't have any nutmeg so I added 3/4 teaspoon pumpkin spice! The pie turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Both my husband and I liked this pie very much. It's easy to make and uses ingedients that I had in the house. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin spice for extra flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made a double recipe for 2-10 in. shells. I did not follow the recipe's seasoning because a few people said it was not quite enough. I used 2T of pumpkin pie spice. I still rate this with 4 stars because the brown sugar gave it good flavor and the texture was perfect! I baked it at 350 for 1hr until firm. The custard rose in the oven and cooled to be flat and even, but no thick skin as with other recipes I've tried. This recipe was easy to experiment with-it is a great base recipe for a seasonal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
YUM! This is a great recipe! This recipe does leave a little extra filling so instead of reducing ingredients (I have used this recipe previously) I DOUBLED THEM this time! And I got three pies. I need extra because its goes so fast and I have to give a pie to my in-laws. Oh, and because this is a custard pie, canned milk works best and makes the pie smooth and creamy! This is my permanent pumpkin custard pie recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a tasty recipe that doesn't require lots of ingredients that I don't always have around. I took a short-cut and didn't bake this in a pie shell; I instead simply baked the custard in a casserole dish with no crust. I wanted to use a whole can of pumpkin pie filling, so I increased all ingredients a bit. It is best chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This quick and easy recipe got rave reviews from my family. Thank you for the praise I recieved which really belongs to you. Cathi32
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I can't believe I finally found the recipe that beats out the store bought kind (you know Mrs. S....!) Couldn't find them in the stores last year. They must not make the pumpkin custard anymore. But hubby says never cook store bought again. This is definitely better! You have to use can milk. Makes its creamier! Thanks Carolyn you made my husband very happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
Not very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this with Splenda...and it tasted fantastic...My dad just LOVED it. Couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States