Pumpkin Curry with Lentils and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Nice flavor, great use/mix of ingredients, and I love the slight sweetness of the apples. I made this last night following the advice of others: doubled the spices, added an extra apple, and used 1/2c of brown/red lentils instead of 1c. I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin as suggested by the author, which came out great. The only problem was the lentils turned to mush and the consistency was more like dhal. Next time I will cook the lentils for only 30 min (set aside uncovered), and then add the cooked lentils to the pot last, after the potatoes are done. So essentially just combine the lentils with all the other ingredients just before serving. I served this with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Actually kind of bland. The flavor of the seasonings did not come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is delicious and filling and perfect for the turn in the weather! I failed to recognize I was out of carrots so those were missing and I decided to use a Kabocha because it was right there in the produce area looking good. Otherwise, I fudged some of the proportions due to making a larger batch and simple preferences, but kept it pretty close. Very tasty dish will be repeated with great joy and frequency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin - but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. It was a very thick chunky stew and tasted good. The apple chunks were really great - I think next time I'll add some more apples. Maybe replace some potatoes with apples? Also I think a splash of cream or coconut milk would really help this soup go from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this for my roommate for her birthday and it was definitely a hit. I didn't have any cloves and I think that would have made the flavor a little better. Also it wasn't quite as spicy as I normally prefer my curries to be so next time I'll add a bit more in terms of spices - perhaps cayanne? Overall was a tasty and filling, good-for-you recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My son is a vegetarian and I like to omit meat from my diet once or twice a week. I have lost 25 pounds by doing nothing else and walking. It was full of interesting flavor and full of great vitamins. Who can ask more of food??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemstoneprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I bought a sugar pumpkin at the store today and could not wait to use it in something! I came across your soup recipe, and I started to cook it before checking that I had all of the ingredients... I was amazed at how well it turned out anyways!! I had no lentils on hand (which is rare!), so I used a combination of small red beans and also great northern beans. I also didn't have any stock, and instead of the tomatoes and broth, I used a large can of tomato puree. I also completely forgot to add the spinach, but it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin - and it worked perfectly. The flavors worked very well together. I wish I had read the reviews ahead of time and used more turmeric in the lentils - because they were a bit bland. But adding a bit of salt helped. Oh, and this dish just got better and better after a few days in the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I really liked it, but no one else in my family did. I added cumin, cinnamon, and increased the turmeric to the water when cooking the lentils because the other ratings said it was bland. It was still a little bland, but I liked it! Decreased lentils by 1/2 cup also and thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren Song Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrett, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States