Pumpkin Curry with Lentils and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made the recipe as written, and it was really great. It is very satisfying and flavorful. After making it, however, I did decide a little butter to make the sauce a little richer (about 3-4 Tb to the whole pot) and about 1/2 tsp cinnamon, which just suites my taste. But overall, a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
OUTSTANDING! My fiance found this recipe accidentally, and decided it would make a perfect October treat. It can be hard to find interesting, flavorful and filling vegetarian dishes, and this one absolutely rose to the occassion! We both love cloves and curry, so we added a bit more to taste; we put in an extra apple and next time we may try the recipe with other winter squash - but otherwise no changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
So, so good!!!! I actually just used more pumpkin and took out the potatoes & carrots. INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
A good recipe. I liked the way the flavors of the curry, squash, and apples worked together. I may reduce the amount of lentils if I make it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Excellent! I followed other reviewers' recommendations and halved the lentils (used only brown as that's all I had), and also didn't cook them beforehand. I just added the uncooked lentils and water with the other vegetables and everything cooked perfectly with a lot less hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This is delicious and healthy! We used butternut squash and didn't put in the apple because we didn't have any. Tasted good and my 2, 4, and 6 year old all had seconds! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I don't even like lentils and I loved this. The entire family did. Anyone who calls it bland didn't make it properly or something. I suppose there are people out there who wouldn't like this but I don't know who they are. Even my dedicated carnivore Dad had three servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I really like this recipes. I made adjustments just so I could work with what I had on hand such as using a delicata squash instead of pumpkin, but can't wait to try it with the pumpkin. I think I also put extra apples into it. Loved the apples in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was delicious! I had to make a few changes to speed up the process and account for missing pumpkin. Instead, I used two sweet potatoes and it turned out great. I used 1 1/2 c. rd lentils and no brown as they cook faster (about 10 minutes). At the same time, I steamed the yams, potatoes and carrots to make them soft as I cooked the lentils in a separate pot. Taking the advice of other reviewers, I doubled the garlic and curry and added a few shakes of dried red peppers. The spices came out just right. Great served over Bulgar or couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This dish was really enjoyable and a great veggie option for dinner. It was super filling and comforting for a cold winter night. Per the recommendations of others, I doubled the spices and substituted butternut squash for the pumpkin. In addition, although I made all the lentils, I didn't add them all to the final dish (I would recommend no more than 1.5 c total), and I added them at the end with the apples/spinach. I also added an extra apple, but wouldn't do this in the future unless i chopped it really small (the bigger chunks were a little offputting in their sweetness). I would also consider substituting the apple out for a few golden raisins. Finally, I used cherry tomotoes instead of the whole because i had them on hand. I'll make this again for sure. It was a healthy and flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States