Pumpkin Curry with Lentils and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
It was healthful, but rather flavourless considering all the ingredients and spices in it. It wasn't disgusting, but it was lacking. We ended up adding a bit of harrissa to each serving to give it a little kick! This recipe also took quite a long time, but I think that was because there were too many useless steps. I followed the recipe exactly, but in the end I could have used one pot and just added things at different times to get the same results I'm sure. I likely won't bother with this recipe again. My husband love my other lentil dishes, so this recipe will be left out of my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
A little more time consuming because of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These ingredients play well together, but the missing "aha" ingredient that people are needing is ginger. Use fresh grated ginger and some dry ginger to give much more sparkle to this. If you are so inclined to take the extra time and energy, grind your cumin seeds, cloves, and black pepper together yourself in a coffee grinder or mortar and pestle. If you have coriander seeds, grind those fresh too, as they add much to the curry flavor. Curry powders are not created equally and even after a couple months of being open, they have lost a lot of their strength and WOW factor for cooking. This is an excellent mixture to stuff whole squashes with for holiday meal presentations, it just needs a little experimentation and you will enjoy the results. If you add currants, a little chopped fresh cilantro and a sprinkle of cashews over the top, it becomes almost Middle Eastern in character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This looked nice served up, and had some great ingredients.. but I agree with the many other reviewers who said it was bland and missing something. I added plenty of extra spices, and you could taste them, but still bland. Added more salt and still tasted like it was missing something vital. I like the ideas of adding coconut milk or raisins. My 7 year old wouldn't eat it, but the other kids did. No one really raved about it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This CAN be a 4 star recipe...with some tweaking. 1) If you don't want mushy lentils, don't cook them first. They can be started at the same time as the other pot. Then add them with the spinach. 2)Use 2 apples or you won't notice they're in there. 3) Rather bland SO...this is what I found...add way more salt, add 1.5+ tsp of red pepper flakes, and the juice of 2-3 limes. 4) Top with roasted sunflower seeds - give it a nice added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vkr422

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Turned some what into mush. Needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was good...it just made a ton of food. As a single person, that's not usually my goal, but I could see it being a good recipe for a get-together. It was hard to evenly cook all the ingredients in the pot. If I make it again, I may skip some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I really wanted to love this recipe. It has great bones, but it seems like it is missing an important spice...I just can't figure out which one. I didn't have potatoes (used cauliflower) or pumpkin (used butternut squash), but followed the rest of the recipe exactly...until I tasted it. It was incredibly bland...so I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled the spices...better, but still not great. I also added a can of coconut milk, and a can of chunk pineapple with the juice. Again, better...but still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
The recipe is a bit off. Followed posted suggestions and reduced the lentils by half, doubled the spices and added another apple. It still wasn't quite right -- maybe add golden raisins?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Mine came out a little bit bland, but I take full responsibility for that: I may not have estimated the lentil-to-spice ratio correctly, as I was using a full bag of red lentils instead of the recommended amounts of red and brown. Also, you may not need two kinds of lentils in there, but if you are picking between them, go with the brown. Red lentils against the pumpkin and tomato make this the most orange food ever with the added randomness of spinach and green apples. People ate it, but it was the most "left-over" dish I made for this dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States