Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This is very good and a quick recipe. My family really liked this one. I did use a white cake mix when I was out of the yellow and it worked just as good. I have frozen part of it before and when it was thawed we both thought the flavor was even better than when first made. Personally it seems to have a better taste at room temp. or from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This absolutely is a favorite dessert of our family. I use my own homemade pumpkin pie spice, add a pinch of salt instead of a whole teaspoon and butter instead of margerine. Excellent as is but over the top yummy with whipped topping or french vanilla ice cream. This dosen't last any longer than past dessert at family gatherings--two days if I've made it for the four of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Wonderful recipe! I have made it with homemade butternut squash puree as well as sweetpotato puree as well and both could easily be passed off as pumpkin! I upped the quantity of puree (no matter what I used) to two cans (30 oz. total) and bumped the sugar down to 1 c. Rather than top with the whipped topping, I thouroughly coated the top with about 2 c. finely chopped pecans (my grampa grows pecans so I have endless access to them). Another favorite recipe that I will be making again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is very addictive! It's the cake and butter topping I think. I used a 30 oz can of pumpkin pie filling because I didn't have all the spices so I just didn't add any spices or salt. I used a cup of sugar but probably could have used even less. I used better than butter baking sticks. I also took the advice of some reviews and didn't put the entire cake mix on top because it is sweet enough without it all. I put some fat free whip topping on the side and I tried it right out of the oven and after it's been in the fridge and I prefer it cold but still good warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is a Thanksgiving and Christmas tradition in my family - this is the best pumpkin recipe ever. My brother calls it "Pumpkin Pleasure." Switch this for the boring ole pumpkin pie and people will rejoice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I shouldn't rate this so high since I changed the recipe up so much but since it was the basis I think it deserves 5 stars. Most of my changes came from other reviews: liberal with the amount of pumpkin; reduce eggs to only 3; reduce sugar to under 1 cup; use spice cake mix; blend cake mix, nuts & melted butter all together in crumb mixture and then crumble over pumpkin mix; cover with foil for 45 min. then remove foil for last 20-25. Phew! That's a lot of changes! But totally worth it. I'm already looking forward to sneaking some for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Have been making this forever-- delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
A whole 18.25 oz. of cake mix was much too much. I reccomend using less. Also, it is important to note that the recipe says to drizzle butter on top, but it never notes that the entire surface needs to be covered in order for there not to be dry mix left on top. So make sure that after drizzling, you spread the butter completely over the surface or else you'll have some very chalky, dry pieces. Even though I encountered these issues, the cake tasted great. The recipe just needs a few tweeks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAemilyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremo Bluff, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was a great recipe! It is very easy to make. I did not have pumpkin pie spice on hand, so used 2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, and a dash of allspice and it turned out great. I actually prefer this to pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States