Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Big hit at family lunch. Replaced 1/2 cup of white sugar with brown sugar and added cinnamon. Served with cinnamon favored cool whip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I make this same cake except I use 3/4 tsp salt, add 1 tsp vanilla and use Milnot brand milk. It's fantastic and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for my family / extended fam for Thanksgiving dinner ..WOW...it was a hit..and gone in the blink of an eye .. everyone RAVED about how good it was... I did alter the recipe just a bit ..I used about 2/3 of a 29 ounce can of pumpkin, 1 1/4 C white sugar and 1/2 C brown..I also used real butter not margarine and I caramelized the pecans. I also used a french Vanilla cake mix rather than the yellow.. I baked at 350 for 60 mins , turned off oven and let it sit in oven for another 10...PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was a great cake. I was alittle nervous at first because the batter was so runny but it all worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This really is delicious. And REALLY forgiving. I made two batches: ladled one into 9x13 dish and divided the other into 7 (# of dinner guests) pot-pie pans. 30 min into cooking I realized I forgot the melted butter step! Doh! Melted and poured and put back into the oven for another 30min or so. Guests were none the wiser. I had no idea how to decide it was done... left the little ones in as long as the big one, and pulled them out when the topping was browned and the toothpick came out clean. It was delicious. I sent each person home with their own mini pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was a big hit! This is my first time I make a desert recipe with pumpkin. I made it for a friends gathering. Everyone was astonished with the taste and asked me for the recipe, so I had to post on our group wall on Facebook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I used a large can of the pumpkin pie mix (all you have to do is add 2 eggs & a small can of evaporated milk). I did not want it to sweet so only put on 1/2 of yellow cake mix and 1/2 cup of melted butter. It was perfect! My 95 year old mother could not stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I remember making this recipe way back when this site was Thanksgivingrecipe.com but I never had a chance to evaluate until now. It’s an easy recipe with delicious and rich results! For the pumpkin puree, I used one whole 30 ounce can, more than 2 cups. I patted down a whole 18.25 oz. box of yellow cake mix over the top of the pumpkin mixture. I used all butter instead of margarine thou I didn’t think that there was enough to cover the pecans and cake mix. I just loved the sweet smell of pecans, pumpkin and butter filling up my house- oh my goodness! I noticed in 55 minutes baking time that the edges were turning dark brown so I covered the entire cake with foil and let it finish baking. The cake was done in one hour and 15 minutes. I let cool it for a while before putting it in the fridge to set. I made a whipped topping, “Whipped Cream,” also from this site, and dolloped it on the cake. The pumpkin filling was very good, moist, spiced just right and tasty. The crumb topping (pecans and cake mix) had a nice crunch and was buttery and sweet. I do think that it was a bit too heavy on the butter, sugar and cake mix for my tastes. Next time I may just cut back on the amount of cake mix, butter and sugar. However, this was a huge hit with my family; and hubs and his coworkers devoured it-happily wiping it out in mere minutes. All I heard was, "Mmm..MMmm." Considering that I had to give this a 5 stars- turned out good for a “cake mix”.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This absolutely is a favorite dessert of our family. I use my own homemade pumpkin pie spice, add a pinch of salt instead of a whole teaspoon and butter instead of margerine. Excellent as is but over the top yummy with whipped topping or french vanilla ice cream. This dosen't last any longer than past dessert at family gatherings--two days if I've made it for the four of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States