Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Made this for my girl friends and they flipped over it. Everyone wanted this recipe. My husband really liked it too. When pressing down the cake batter, make sure to really press hard into the bottom mixture. I found that this way helped tone down some of the crunchiness. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
What a hit for Thanksgiving!! I wasn't sure what it was going to turn out like but it was really like a pumpkin cobbler. Much tastier than pumpkin pie. I only used one cup of sugar and I toasted the pecans in butter before putting them on. Cooked for exactly 60 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I am sure this dessert is the reason my fiance fell in love with me. He asks for it all the time, even for his birthday "cake" even though it's in the dead of summer. Now I've introduced it to his family. They're begging for me to bring it to this year's Thanksgiving gathering, my first time meeting the whole family. Really, this stuff is incredible. If I make any tweaks at all, it is to use the canned pumpkin pie mix with the spices already added, add a few more pecans, MAYBE reduce the butter to 3/4 cup, and usually I need to cover the dish with foil partway through baking so it doesn't burn. It DOES burn very easily, so watch for that. But it's incredible & decadent just the way it's written. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Really good and pretty darn easy! I tossed the pecans in 1 Tablespoon of butter and pre-toasted them in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was really good and easy. Made it twice for gatherings and everyone loved it. Brought it to work and it was gone fast! I used real butter and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
must have cooked a few minutes too long and pecans got burnt. Also, didn't know if it needed refrigerated if I made the night before??? Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYOH1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I am sorry, but my family and I HATED this recipe. It was so sugary sweet that it actually made us feel sick to eat it. Also, I was expecting something more cake like, but instead it was was like an over the top pumpkin pie. I won't be having seconds, and I will never make this again. I am extremely disappointed & truly don't understand why this recipe got such good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Great tasting cake,but would have to really experiment with cooking time, my pumpkin layer didn't set properly after 80 minutes. Will definitely try again because of the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this cake was a big hit at a dinner party! excellent and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This one has been a favorite for a couple of years now - we absolutely love it!! I substitute 1/2 c of the white sugar for brown -- we like the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States