Pumpkin Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used walnuts instead of pecans and Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was easy and was good but I've had better. It could have used more pumpkin pie spice. I may try it again to see if I did something wrong and add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I've been making this recipe for years and LOVE it. This is a great alternative to pumpkin pie. After reading these reviews, I will try using butter instead of margrine and less salt. Otherwise, it's great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
My family LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe, but when I made it the last time, I screwed up at the end and I couldn't believe that it tasted even better. I forgot to add the pumpkin pie spice to the pumpkin! So I ended up stirring it into the butter and pouring it on top. I also had only 3 eggs, so I figured, oh well, it'll either taste good or it won't. It was AMAZING. Everyone at the Thanksgiving table wanted the recipe. We totally served it warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bonney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this mostly as written, with a few minor changes. I used only cinnamon in place of the pumpkin pie spice. My cake mix was butter yellow instead of regular yellow and was only 15.5 oz (but I would use a larger box next time if I have one). In place of margarine I used unsalted butter. Mine only took the minimum 60 minutes to bake and it was perfectly cooked. I served at room temperature with cool whip, and I think ice cream could work well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this recipe and have made it for years. I have made a short cut. I use Pumpkin Pie Mix and just add the wet ingredients: eggs, evaporated milk, instead then follow rest of recipe. Turns out great, I carry copy of recipe every time I share it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is the best idea if you hate soggy piecrust! The crust is on the top and stays CRUNCHY! But the recipe needed tweaked...for this size pan you need the LARGE CAN of pumpkin, and since the cake mix has sugar...use ONLY 1 CUP sugar, and NO SALT needed. And reduce eggs to 3. I also use my own pumpkin pie spice mix. Pecans are a nice touch. I have also halved the recipe in a square pan and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I learned this in my foods class in high school. It has been a hit every thanksgiving ever since. I use walnuts instead of pecans, but they're both great. This year I will make some alterations to the ingredients to try and stay on the healthy side--at least a tad bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was so addictive. I had this at a Baby Shower today and everyone, and I mean everyone, was raving about it. The sweet (but not too sweet) and salty crunch is a great combo. I will be adding this to my Thanksgiving dessert table for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this the day before and was worried how it would taste cold - it wasn't the prettiest creation ever, either - but it was out of this world yummy! Very popular and most of the family went back for seconds. Made as directed, but would like to try the 1/2 brown sugar as recommended by other reviewers. Served with Cool Whip. I think other cake mixes like Butter Pecan, Spice and maybe even Carrot would be equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADONIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States