Pumpkin Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This cake much easier and faster to make than my other layered pumpkin dessert recipe. My husband LOVED it and insisted I make it again. I used the 9x13 pan as suggested and, though the bottom layer seemed thin, it expanded nicely and made a very substantial pan of cake that serves more like a bar. The second time I made the cake, I used 8 oz of CREAM CHEESE in the top crumble instead of the butter - keeping the cheese a little chunky. It was even better! The cream cheese really balances the sweetness of this dessert and rounds out the flavors. As other reviews noted, less sugar in the topping would be fine and less butter in the crust would be worth trying. This is a sweet and very rich dessert. As for the filling: This is a lot like pumpkin pie filling. With that in mind, I added 2 T of cream the second time. The pumpkin flavor was a little less sharp. I might try doubling the filling next time to make something more like a pumpkin dessert than a bar. Great basic recipe that I will turn to regularly; Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving...Hubby says he never wants Pumpkin Pie again. This is wonderful!!!! Thinking a scoop of ice cream might add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Perfect! The crust I did exactly as the recipe states, but for the filling I only had 30oz cans of the pumpkin pie filling (not the pure pumpkin). I added the three eggs to this and omitted the sugars and spices. This filled the 9x13 perfectly, it was nice and thick and set up perfectly. Absolutely no problems with it being too thin like other users noted. I was able to cut them into small bars for my daughter's class Thanksgiving treat and they were a huge hit. Thank you! Wonderful, easy fall dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbiana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe was delicous!! My family loved it even my pickiest eater. The pumpkin filling was like a pumpkin pie sandwiched between a slightly salty/buttery crust. YUMMY! I left out the nuts but added a little drizzle of maple syrup on the top. Perfect recipe and so easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was great!! I ate it warm, but it fell apart easily...as it cooled, it stayed togetehr better. And as other suggested, I used a 8x8 pan - perfect! Very yummy but be prepared - it's VERY VERY RICH!....great pumpkin taste, and all the other flavors came through nicely (you could taste the brown suger - loved that). I used chopped walnuts - which were a perfect compliment. ALthough nuts are "optional" - per the recipe - I would NOT leave them out of this recipe...it gives it some nice crunch. The topping on this too was super! I used a plain yellow cake mix..and it was perfect..didnt overshadow the other flavors in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Love this! I skipped the crumb topping due to reports of sogginess, so I added a cream cheese glaze instead. Pumpkin pie like but without the hassle of the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I used carrot cake mix, because it's already very "spicy," and the combination went really well. I have to agree that the taste isn't very pumpkin-y, but it's still a great fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
AMAZING!!! I altered the recipe and halved the butter with applesauce! My friends, family and co workers have raved about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
One word Awesome! Will make again 'tis the season for great pumpkin desserts and this is my favorite right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States