Pumpkin Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I have made this recipe for the past 3 years (Thanksgiving & Christmas holidays) and my family loves it! It's also a big hit at work. I too feel that the topping could use some improvment. For the topping, I have added oatmeal and it does make it more like a "crisp." Also, the addition of a little flour (enhanced with pumpkin pie spice) stretches the mix to ensure that there is enough to cover the top. A must try for those who want a little something different for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Getting tired of the same old pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, so I thought I try something a little different. Enter Pumpkin Crisp. Nice substitute for regular pumpkin pie and is a nice accompaniment to my requisite apple pie. The yellow cake is so much more interesting than standard pie crust and marries well with the pumpkin filling. However the topping mixture didn't work out all the well as it was not turning into coarse crumbs during preparation. Too much butter? Not enough cake mix? I ended up adding more flour (about 1/2 cup) and 2 tbsps of sugar (might try brown sugar next time), and a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to cut the flour taste to the topping mixture in order to get the consistency right. This gave me more than enough topping and I may even back off a bit on the amount of topping I add to the dish next time. But it was a hit and I'll definitely make it again. 4 stars for flavor and "interesting" factor, a star off for recipe adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamon Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Great recipe. Took longer to prepare since I used fresh pumpkin rather than canned, but well worth the extra effort. I will try it again using pie crust instead of the mix suggested by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This recipe is ABSOLUTLEY THE BEST TASTING pumpkin dessert out there!!!! I like to use canned pumpkin pie mix instead of the pumpkin puree and just cut back to 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Ive made this quite a few times and everyone loves it. But Im bothered how the cake mix on the bottom NEVER gets cooked? Its always still raw dough. Does anyone else have this problem, or is it suppose to be like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was delicious! Its similar to pumpkin pie but I love the sugar topping, it really gives it that extra something. The only change I made was to use half brown sugar and half white sugar for the topping (instead of all white sugar) and it came out really good. I will definitely be making this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This recipe is delicious! I added a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts to the topping. The topping was very wet so I added about 1/3 cup of flour to make it crumbly. Rave reviews from family and friends, but if sugar and fat calories are a concern, this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Oh my gosh, this is SO good! My six year old that is super picky and would normally never touch pumpkin pie loves it! I wanted to test it out before making it for Thanksgiving. I can't wait for my family to try it. I am no fan of pumpkin pie at all, but this this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Gosh, this is good! Others' general comments are echoed here: The crust was kind of sticky so I mixed in some rolled oats before patting it down. Doubled the spices in the pumpkin mixture just because. Crumb topping was improved by adding less sugar - only 1/2 cup - as well as about 1/2 cup each of flour and rolled oats. Finally, had to bake it at least 15 minutes longer than suggested (70-75 min). Just had a bite to make sure it wasn't poison - and it isn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Delicious! Just what I was looking for. Even those who don't like pumpkin liked it! Did use 1/2 cup sugar in topping and cut in cold butter, not soft. may try a little less butter in bottom next time??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States