Pumpkin Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This recipe was OK. It was nice to try something new, but I do like pumpkin pie much better. I dont think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was delicious! Its similar to pumpkin pie but I love the sugar topping, it really gives it that extra something. The only change I made was to use half brown sugar and half white sugar for the topping (instead of all white sugar) and it came out really good. I will definitely be making this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Well, the boyfriend loved this, but I just thought it was OK. I guess it was the crust I wasn't fond of (to buttery). I did run out of sugar when making the topping (I was over his house) so it didn't come out crumbly. Since he enjoyed this more than me, I left the recipe with him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Kids loved it. A nice change from pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This was very good. It was kind of like gooey cake except with pumpkin. My topping was not crumbly - it turned out creamy, so I had to try to spread it over the pumpkin. I may have stirred it too much, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe is awesome, no more pumpkin pie at our house on Thanksgiving! Great with or without whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This recipe was superb!!! It was easy to make and even easier to eat. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves pumpkin pie. The only complaint I have is the topping. I don't know if it was the way I mixed the topping but it came out creamy rather than crumbly. Other than that, this recipe will be a Thanksgiving tradition years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Made this yesterday for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. I also had a problem with the topping. It was in one big lump. Somehow I put small pcs. of the mixture all over, covering the top. and it came out almost caramelized. Thanks Bunny for this wonderful(especially warm from the oven)recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Getting tired of the same old pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, so I thought I try something a little different. Enter Pumpkin Crisp. Nice substitute for regular pumpkin pie and is a nice accompaniment to my requisite apple pie. The yellow cake is so much more interesting than standard pie crust and marries well with the pumpkin filling. However the topping mixture didn't work out all the well as it was not turning into coarse crumbs during preparation. Too much butter? Not enough cake mix? I ended up adding more flour (about 1/2 cup) and 2 tbsps of sugar (might try brown sugar next time), and a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to cut the flour taste to the topping mixture in order to get the consistency right. This gave me more than enough topping and I may even back off a bit on the amount of topping I add to the dish next time. But it was a hit and I'll definitely make it again. 4 stars for flavor and "interesting" factor, a star off for recipe adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamon Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Eventhough I messed up the cake mix part, my family loved it. Use less butter in the crust for sure. Nutmeg goes a long way so I reduced it to 1/4t. I didn't have evaporated milk so I subbed 3T melted butter & enough whole milk to equal 2/3c. I'll try it again without talking. That should help. Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States