Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Revision: after a day in the refrigerator, this gets 5 stars! I stand by the vanilla assertion though. ****** Very tasty but just a little bit bland for me. I think I'll add a tsp vanilla and a little more cinnamon next time I make it. I used whole fresh cranberries, and while it came out just fine, I think next time I'll coarsely chop them, perhaps in half, to avoid a big tart mouthful. :) This makes a great breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I'm not exactly how I'd rate this bread with the cranberries, but if you substitute chocolate chips for the cranberries, it is absolutely delightful. Pumpkin and chocolate is an amazing flavor combination. Also, you can substitute applesauce for the oil and cut down on the fat, but it stays extremely moist. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Awesome. Very moist, just the right amount of cranberries and pumpkin and nuts; for me, anyway. And it looks pretty just as it is. Would make a nice gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
A wonderful recipe! I used almonds as the nuts and followed everything else and it was perfect! I am sending my husband to work in the morning with several mini loaves for all the guys; hopefully they enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great recipe! May need to bake longer than stated, I recommend the toothpick test to avoid a raw center. I made mine with orange flavored dried cranberries and an orange flavor icing drizzle on top. Excellent gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe was excellent. I followed it exactly except for I used raisins instead of cranberries. I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Delicious!! I used a few suggestions from some of the other reviewers: -used half the amount of sugar (a little over 1 cup) -used fresh cranberries (cut in half) -replaced 1/2 the oil (1/4 cup) with applesauce -used pecans instead of walnut -baked in muffin tins for 25 min (made 20 muffins) They came out just right -- moist, with a good balance of sweetness and tanginess (from the cranberries), and they were a hit in the office today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have made this recipe twice and I really liked it the second time, after I made some changes. The first time I used whole-frozen cranberries and the berries exploded making little pools of sauce in the bread. I liked it, but the cranberries weren’t spread out enough in the bread. The second time I cut the frozen berried in ½ and that was better. Instead of two pans, (I like taller bread), I used one 9.25x5.25 inch loaf pan and cooked it at the recommended temperature for about 70 minutes. I started checking it at 60 minutes. Once I took it out of the oven, I left the bread in the pan and put it on a cooling rack for about 15 minutes. Then I removed it from the pan and let it almost completely cool before I cut it. I will make this bread again and again! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Sorry, but I was not thrilled with the results. The bread has a great flavor, but I found myself picking out the dried cranberries. Next time I'll just leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I had to bake this bread two different times -- my first loaf had a thick, doughy texture (probably because I only baked it for 60 minutes). My second time, I still used one 9x5 in. pan and baked it for 1 hr. and a half, and it came out perfect. I also added 2 tsps. of vanilla extract and an extra egg. For the 2 c. sugar, I used 1 c. white and 1 light brown. The taste is excellent! If you use only one 9x5 pan, you might have to cover the top with foil to prevent overbrowning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States