Pumpkin Cranberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The bread itself is good, but I don't like it with the dried cranberries. It'd be better with fresh cranberries. Or, I should have softened them in warm water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this tonight- and I am an expert baker as well as have a husband who is a retired MASTER CHEF...we have VERY high standards...I used a stone-wear pampered chef 4 mini loaf pan and baked on 350 for 50 minutes using convection oven... also substituted raw turbinado sugar for the white sugar (same amount) and instead of pumpkin pie spice I used cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice-and instead of cranberries I used 2 cups of Dried pitted tart montmorency cherries and chopped pecans in lieu of walnuts-lastly I sprinkled turbinado sugar on the tops of the batter of each loaf before baking...my husband who is NOT a huge eater- devoured an entire mini loaf before they were removed from the pans to the cooling racks- that says IT ALL... this is a great base recipe and I will be using it over and over again- with dried cranberries and other ingredients- will also be gifting mini loaves of this FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family LOVES this recipe! I always have to double it because everything is eaten within a couple of days! I cut the sugar in half and use frozen cranberries, but you really can't taste the difference. Most of the time, I will add frozen blueberries in addition to cranberries (~ 1-2 cups). This just adds to the moistness and flavor of the bread. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So the first time I made this I was so excited since the idea of the cranberries, spices and pumpkin smelled and sounded so good BUT it was a total flop! I subed the dried crans for fresh, since I had some I wanted to use up and upped the sugar a little and decreased the liquid...I got a mushy bread. I didn't give up and tried it again, following the recipe and got a perfect loaf that was WONDERFUL. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've had better. I did try half applesauce half oil which others warned against so the rubberlike texture was my fault. I also used half the sugar which I would not reccomend especially if you use fresh wild cranberries. So overall not so great, I would try a different recipe next time, one that I can substitute some of the oil since that is my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very nice tea time or breakfast bread! Followed the directions exactly,and it turned out well. I did have to extend the baking time by 8 min, but that may be my oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I am not a baker, but this one turned out! It was moist and not too sweet. I read the other reviews and decided to make one loaf in a 9X5 pan and cook it for 1 hour and 30 minutes. It turned out to be just right. I did add the foil over the top after about 1 hour. I also switched the cranberries out for raisins so it would be less seasonal and did 1 1/2 cups of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. It worked so well I would make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great quick bread-not too sweet and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This bread is really good. After making it once, I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups for the next batch, didn't add cranberries, substituted pecans, used a flax meal egg substitute, and it still tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
What a great anytime snack! My 3rd batch is in the oven now and it's definately going into my recipe arsenal. I added an extra egg and didn't use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States