Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I took these to a pot luck, the kids were eating them up like crazy! I did add some pumpkin pie spice to zip them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Yum! I made this for my daughter's Pre-School Thanksgiving Feast. They loved them. I exchanged the canola oil for some homemade applesauce. Added a bit of chunkiness for texture and made them even healthier! I also used mini-muffin tins since they were for pre-schoolers. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Used this recipe to fill 36 mini-muffin tins, omitting the nuts. Baked at 425 for 10 minutes. Came out perfect - flavorful, light muffins - taking them to Thanksgiving dinner today. (Note: I used peanut oil, and stone ground whole grain cornmeal rather than the more common degermed cornmeal.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I actually (a rarity) made these muffins according to the recipe and they turned out very well- my husband loved them! I would have prefered them to be bit a little less sweet. next time, I will probably cut the sugar in half. If you decide to try this recipe think cornbread rather than pumpkin pie. If you are after a spicier pumpkin pie type flavor it would probably be better to choose a different recipe. These are a nice accompaniment to soup or stew and would also be good for a nourishing, not too sweet, breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina C.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Awesome! I added a splash on vanilla extract and about a tsp of pumpkin pie spice. These were wonderful warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I tried to make this in a bundt pan and it simply did not work. The middle of the cake was completely raw. I will try it again as muffins because I think it does sound great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These weren't the "bomb," but they are good & I will make them again. I didn't add the nuts. That seemed odd for cornbread. Only had light brown sugar. Subtle pumpkin taste, but that's what you want if you're having cornbread, not pumpkin bread. BTW why add pumpkin bread spices to cornbread?! Just because there's pumpkin in it? Maybe those who did could add cornmeal to their pumpkin bread & like it better. Just sayin' :D Almost 2T pumpkin per serving. Yeah! Vitamin A! Did mine at 425 for 15. Not dry at all - considering we're dealing with cornbread, not cake - or pumpkin bread. :) Next day review: My cornbread lovin' boy (13) didn't like these. His cornbread nonlovin' sister (11) didn't either. Huh. Guess I'll try the pumpkin trick in the ususal recipes - Grandmother's buttermilk, golden sweet or homesteader. Third day review: He now likes 'em. They moistened up & he wants these again. He thought I'd tried another recipe. There was that much of a change. Yeah, Vitamin A (again)! 7.12 Tried w sweet potato & white sugar. Good, too - & easier to mix w white. 'Made 12 muffs, done in 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I made this cornbread to go with some pumpkin chili I made -- these were top notch! The pumpkin made it moist and cake-like, not dry and crumbly, making you want to choke, like most cornbread I've had! I substituted 1/4c applesauce in for the oil, and also used 1/4c whole wheat flour with 3/4c all-purpose flour. Would be great with butter, but they were best eaten plain when they came out of the oven, I didn't want to spoil the delicate pumpkin taste. These seem like they would even hold up to a sweeter, chocolate-chip breakfast version (probably a cornbread sin of some sort, though?)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This recipe is really yummy. Cornbread with a hint of pumpkin and very moist. It doesn't turn out as well if you don't make them in muffin tins. The center doesn't get done. I didn't use nuts and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I'm always looking for ways to use pumpkin so I gave this one a try. My only modification to this recipe was to add a streusel topping of 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. chopped pecans, and 1 Tbsp. butter. I topped each muffin with a bit of this mixture and baked (reduced temp. to 400 based on other comments). I thought they were just okay but my family gobbled them all up. Just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States