Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I'm always looking for ways to use pumpkin so I gave this one a try. My only modification to this recipe was to add a streusel topping of 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. chopped pecans, and 1 Tbsp. butter. I topped each muffin with a bit of this mixture and baked (reduced temp. to 400 based on other comments). I thought they were just okay but my family gobbled them all up. Just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This recipe is really yummy. Cornbread with a hint of pumpkin and very moist. It doesn't turn out as well if you don't make them in muffin tins. The center doesn't get done. I didn't use nuts and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Yum! I made this for my daughter's Pre-School Thanksgiving Feast. They loved them. I exchanged the canola oil for some homemade applesauce. Added a bit of chunkiness for texture and made them even healthier! I also used mini-muffin tins since they were for pre-schoolers. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I actually (a rarity) made these muffins according to the recipe and they turned out very well- my husband loved them! I would have prefered them to be bit a little less sweet. next time, I will probably cut the sugar in half. If you decide to try this recipe think cornbread rather than pumpkin pie. If you are after a spicier pumpkin pie type flavor it would probably be better to choose a different recipe. These are a nice accompaniment to soup or stew and would also be good for a nourishing, not too sweet, breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Pretty good. Easy to make with items on hand. I went ahead and just put in the whole can of pumpkin and decreased the oil a little. I also added a 1/2 tsp of pampered chef 'cinnamon plus' for spice and only added about 1/2 c of nuts. Maybe could have used a little white sugar. Still, yummy spread with butter or cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I spiced these up with 1 t ginger, 1 t cinnamon, 1 t pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 t nutmeg. With these additions, the muffins had some flavor. Without them, I'm guessing these muffins wouldn't taste like very much at all. I don't think they are very pumpkin-y. They have a good texture though; they are not too dense but are moist. So, if you are going to make these, make sure to jazz them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
I took these to a pot luck, the kids were eating them up like crazy! I did add some pumpkin pie spice to zip them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Used this recipe to fill 36 mini-muffin tins, omitting the nuts. Baked at 425 for 10 minutes. Came out perfect - flavorful, light muffins - taking them to Thanksgiving dinner today. (Note: I used peanut oil, and stone ground whole grain cornmeal rather than the more common degermed cornmeal.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I tried to make this in a bundt pan and it simply did not work. The middle of the cake was completely raw. I will try it again as muffins because I think it does sound great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States