Pumpkin Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! I thought these would be mediocre, but I wanted to try it out. WOW, the texture, moistness, and density is so perfect! So tasty too, but I added some spices for the more pumpkin-like fall taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These muffins are really delicious. I replaced the oil with more pumpkin and added cinnamon and ginger. They turned out fantastic! So much flavour, very moist, and the perfect mix of my two favourite muffins! Much better than I even thought they would be :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These weren't the "bomb," but they are good & I will make them again. I didn't add the nuts. That seemed odd for cornbread. Only had light brown sugar. Subtle pumpkin taste, but that's what you want if you're having cornbread, not pumpkin bread. BTW why add pumpkin bread spices to cornbread?! Just because there's pumpkin in it? Maybe those who did could add cornmeal to their pumpkin bread & like it better. Just sayin' :D Almost 2T pumpkin per serving. Yeah! Vitamin A! Did mine at 425 for 15. Not dry at all - considering we're dealing with cornbread, not cake - or pumpkin bread. :) Next day review: My cornbread lovin' boy (13) didn't like these. His cornbread nonlovin' sister (11) didn't either. Huh. Guess I'll try the pumpkin trick in the ususal recipes - Grandmother's buttermilk, golden sweet or homesteader. Third day review: He now likes 'em. They moistened up & he wants these again. He thought I'd tried another recipe. There was that much of a change. Yeah, Vitamin A (again)! 7.12 Tried w sweet potato & white sugar. Good, too - & easier to mix w white. 'Made 12 muffs, done in 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Love these. I actully used Jiffy corn mix, 1 can pumpkin and 1 egg, and baked muffins for 12-15 min.....came out perfect! They taste like corn bread but are nice and moist. Next time I'm making with mashed sweet potates to go with a Carribean theme! My kids loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina C.
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Awesome! I added a splash on vanilla extract and about a tsp of pumpkin pie spice. These were wonderful warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Yuumy! Moist and dense. We used applesauce, no oil, and only a 1/4 quarter cup brown sugar to serve with our chili. Next time I'll keep the full sugar and add the pumpkin pie spice with some crumble topping for a sweeter option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delicious! What a great way to sneak some pumpkin in. I've made this recipe exactly as is and with a few changes. The main change I recommend is to add the entire can of pumpkin versus just 1 cup. Dark brown sugar is a must as well, so no substitutes with light brown sugar. Using applesauce in place of the oil works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These were simple and yummy. I added a bit if cinnamon and nutmeg plus a pinch of allspice, and they turned out great, if not wow. However, I think this is a good standard recipe that can easily be tweaked per your individual taste to make it wow for you. (Like I want to try cutting back on the sugar and maybe adding some cheddar for a more savory muffin next time). The mixture of cornmeal and pumpkin was perfect. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCambridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were ok but they lacked luster. They need a lil more spice. If I were to make them again I'd add a lil allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made these sugar free using splenda and sugar free maple syrup for the brown sugar. I also used whole wheat flour. They are terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States